Friday Finds (3/1/13)

fridayfindslogoFRIDAY FINDS showcases the books you ‘found’ and added to your To Be Read (TBR) list… whether you found them online, or in a bookstore, or in the library — wherever! (they aren’t necessarily books you purchased). Hosted by Should Be Reading.

So, come on — share with us your FRIDAY FINDS!

This week I’ve added several books to my TBR pile….

winterwitchThe Winter Witch by Paula Brackston
Published January 29th 2013 by St. Martin’s Press

Fledgling witch Morgana must defend her love, her home, and her life in this enthralling tale perfect for fans of Discovery of Witches

In her small Welsh town, there is no one quite like Morgana. She has never spoken, and her silence as well as the magic she can’t quite control make her a mystery. Concerned for her safety, her mother quickly arranges a marriage with Cai Bevan, the widower from the far hills who knows nothing of the rumours that swirl around her. After their wedding, Morgana is heartbroken at leaving, but she soon falls in love with Cai’s farm and the rugged mountains that surround it, while slowly Cai himself begins to win her heart. It’s not long, however, before her strangeness begins to be remarked upon in her new village. A dark force is at work there—a person who will stop at nothing to turn the townspeople against Morgana, even at the expense of those closest to her. Forced to defend her home, her love, and herself from all comers, Morgana must learn to harness her power, or she will lose everything.

Paula Brackston’s debut novel, The Witch’s Daughter, was the little book that could—with a captivating story, remarkable heroine, and eye-catching package, it has now netted over 40,000 copies in all formats. Now Paula returns with The Winter Witch, another enchanting tale of love and magic, featuring her signature blend of gorgeous writing, a fabulous and intriguing historical backdrop, and a headstrong and relatable heroine readers will cheer for.

I adored The Witch’s Daughter and I’m looking forward to seeing what Brackston has to offer in her new book.

saynotosparklesSay No to Sparkles by Kyle Strickland (Author) & Carly Strickland (Illustrator)
Published October 25th 2012 by Matter Deep Publishing

Say No to Sparkles is a fully illustrated anthology of quirky, spooky, comedic, and outrageous vampire stories– one of the world’s oldest myths told with a fresh voice. It features vampires that are blood-sucking killers, mothers, CEOs, and are killed by sunlight. This book is completely devoid of perfect smiles, haunted looks, shirtless werewolves, and sparkles.

Snarky riff on the vampire/Twilight phenomenon? I am so there.

blackmoonBlack Moon by Jessica McQuay
Published October 2012 by Cambridge Press

“Am I losing my mind?”

Paige couldn’t help but question her sanity. What other explanation could there be for her hearing a conversation held barely above a whisper in the back of a classroom full of students? What about coming home to find one of those very classmates lying in wait in the darkness of her home, ready to attack her?

Confused, frustrated and feeling every ounce of her social ostracism, Paige confides in the one person she’s always been able to count on: her mom. But when her mom reveals a deeply rooted, unbelievable family secret, Paige discovers her world is filled with more than she ever imagined possible. A world where fairytales live alongside nightmares and secrets are the glue that binds them together. Suddenly no one is who they seem and Paige is faced with more questions than answers. Can she survive in a world filled with creatures scarier than anything she could imagine and where deceit runs as thick as blood? Or will the truth send her over the edge?

Paranormal YA books have been hit or miss with me lately but this looks good enough to take a chance on.

backpassageThe Back Passage by James Lear
Published May 5th 2006 by Cleis Press

Agatha Christie, move over! Hard-core sex and scandal meet in this brilliantly funny whodunit.

A seaside village, an English country house, a family of wealthy eccentrics and their equally peculiar servants, a determined detective — all the ingredients are here for a cozy Agatha Christie-style whodunit. But wait — Edward “Mitch” Mitchell is no Hercule Poirot, and The Back Passage is no Murder of Roger Ackroyd. Mitch is a handsome, insatiable 22-year-old hunk who never lets a clue stand in the way of a steamy encounter, whether it’s with the local constabulary, the house secretary, or his school chum and fellow athlete Boy Morgan, who becomes his Watson when they’re not busy boffing each other.

When Reg Walworth is found dead in a cabinet, Sir James Eagle has his servant Weeks immediately arrested as the killer. But Mitch’s observant eye pegs more plausible possibilities: polysexual chauffeur Hibbert, queenly pervert Leonard Eagle, missing scion Rex, sadistic copper Kennington, even Sir James Eagle himself. Blackmail, police corruption, a dizzying network of spyholes and secret passages, watersports, and a nonstop queer orgy backstairs and everyplace else mark this hilariously hard-core mystery by a major new talent.

The reason I am going to hell and don’t care. I’ll bring marshmallows.

There are now 155 books in my to be read shelf on Goodreads. I need to get cracking! Happy reading! I’d also like everyone to know that it is my birthday this Sunday and I will be turning 30. Oh my god! Is it too early for a mid-life crisis?

Thank you for reading!

Advertisements

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 34 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on March 1, 2013, in book meme, books, Friday Finds, To Be Read and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. We're Jumpin' Books

    Started following you through WordPress. 🙂
    Black Moon does look lovely, hopefully it will be something that you will love!
    Thanks for sharing your finds.
    My Friday Finds:
    http://werejumpinbooks.wordpress.com/2013/03/01/friday-finds-2/

  2. Those look like some really great books! First time I’ve visited here – I LOVE your website. Call me weird, I just have a thing for dots.

  3. Happy Early Birthday! I added The Winter Witch for one of my challenges this year and can’t wait to start it! The synopsis for Say No to Sparkles made me laugh, thanks for the find!
    My Friday Finds

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: