Friday Ramble #7 (3/1/13)

fridayramblelogo

Welcome to the Friday Ramble, where I share what has been going on in my life and on the blog the past week.

I recently went on a search for ideas on how to spruce up my Friday Ramble posts. I find roundup posts really helpful in keeping track of interesting posts on other blogs and tracking my own progress. It’s difficult coming up with content ideas beyond just book reviews when you are a book blogger. You kind of have to think around the concept of the book and see what pops up. Anywho, I’d like to thank Kelly at Radiant Shadows for her Keeping up with the Blogosphere posts and Tara at 25-Hour Books and Amanda at On A Book Bender for their Clock Rewinders posts. There were a couple others doing similar posts but they don’t seem to be updating those anymore. Pity.

Bookish Blog News

blackdotI’ve given up on the idea of holding to a schedule. Posts will just happen when they happen. I’ll still shoot for posting book reviews on Tuesday (out of habit more than anything else) and of course the Friday Ramble will only happen on Friday’s, but otherwise posts will just show up when they’re done. Things will be added or dropped as time allows.

blackdotI have some giveaway news! I ended up winning Barry Lyga’s (author of I Hunt Killers, one of my favorite books last year) little Barry’s Blogger Book Bonus contest. Which means I have a book signed by him coming my way that will appear as a giveaway on this blog. No idea which book it is yet or when that giveaway will happen but I’ll let you know more information as soon as I can.

blackdotI give up. I’ve decided to just go ahead and expand the blog to include Young Adult, New Adult, and Adult titles. As such, you are going to start seeing erotica and other niche books here. I’ll have them labeled, obviously, but my reading tastes just keep evolving. So, the blog will evolve to include ALL THE BOOKS. (I’ll create a new header over the weekend to reflect this.)

Personal News

blackdotMy birthday is this Sunday, March 3rd. I will be turning 30 years old. I may or may not be having a small nervous breakdown over it. I’m too young to be that old! O_o

blackdotI’m going on a diet. Kill me now.

blackdotMy plant saplings are starting to sprout! It’s all herbs will a couple flowers thrown in for color. I can’t wait to cook with my own herbs. My balcony is going to look like a mini jungle.

blackdotMy best friend found out she’s having a boy! He’s due in July. Her two year old daughter is all excited about becoming a big sis.

What am I reading?

Finished: Splintered by A.G. Howard. It was good but I feel could have been better with a few tweaks.
Started: Mariner’s Luck by Kirby Crow. On my Kindle and ready to go.
What Next: I have a few homosexual erotica books on my To Be Read shelf that I really want to get to. Mostly because I’m a pervert and like my smut. (No, I don’t have any shame. It was beaten out of me in high school.)

Search Terms

blackdotskulduggery pleasant full book/skulduggery pleasant book review – A day doesn’t go by where I don’t have somebody searching for that on my blog and I have no idea why. Is the series really that popular and I’m just the odd little cupcake that really didn’t like it that much?

blackdotfalse prince sage is jaron – I know I never revealed that on my book review, so I have no idea why that term keeps pinging me.

blackdotnew adult romance book blogs – Not quite but almost.

blackdotbook review for savvy by ingrid law – Do your own homework, kids.

blackdotlist of – Well, that’s vague.

blackdotbeltane dance – Sure. Why not?

Note Worthy Articles

Publishers Long Overdue in Offering Libraries eBook Titles – The Huffington Post
God yes! I was so happy when I figured out my library’s Overdrive system and could get library books sent to my Kindle but there is like nothing available. It’s a wasteland.

Libraries In Crisis: Urging Random House To Reconsider Pricing Decision – The Huffington Post
Random House wants to charge more while Penguin Group and Simon & Schuster won’t deal with ebooks and libraries at all.

Why Aren’t There More Ebooks? – Urbandale Public Library

High Demand for eBooks in Libraries – Lulu Blog

The ‘sexiest meal’: what a character’s breakfast reveals about them – The Guardian
Who know that you could tell so much about a character from their breakfast!

Around The Web

2013 Over the Rainbow List: 84 LGBT Books for Adult Readers – American Library Association

blackdotParajunkee let us know that nominations for the Book Blogger Twitter Con 2013 Awards ends today. So, if you know a blog that is awesome at what they do, be sure to nominate them while you can. I can’t wait for BBTC to start April 1st. It looks like fun.

blackdotFreebie Alert! The Guardians Inc.: The Cypher by Julian Rosado-Machain $100 Book Blast post hosted by I Am A Reader, Not A Writer has shown up on my dashboard like 20 times today but it offers a free copy of Guardians Inc.: The Cypher for your ereader. I got a Kindle copy. It looks like an interesting book.

Questions?

blackdotIs the polkadot background too much? Should I go for a solid color? Let me know what you think.

blackdotDoes anyone have Amazon Prime membership? Is it worth it? It’s expensive but then you get all those freebies and special pricing. I just want to know people’s opinions before I drop that much cash.

Thank you for reading!

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 34 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on March 1, 2013, in Friday Ramble. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. rosecityreader

    Happy birthday a day late.

    The polka dots are a little wild, but cheered me up, for sure.

    Thanks for following my Rose City Reader blog. I am now following you back on twitter and google+.

Leave a Reply

