Friday Ramble #8 (March 8, 2013)

fridayramblelogo

Welcome to the Friday Ramble, where I share what has been going on in my life and on the blog the past week.

Bookish Blog News

blackdotOh, hey! Look! Friday Ramble #8 lands on March 8th. I swear I didn’t plan for that to happen.

blackdotMusing Mondays post about book peeves and lack of character development.

blackdotTwo mini book reviews up on Tuesday.
1) Wolverine: Worst Day Ever by Barry Lyga
2) Enchanted Glass by Diana Wynne Jones

Personal News

blackdotOn Sunday March 3, 2013 I turned 30 years old. Unable to accept this, I promptly went out and spent $150 on toys. I then had a nervous breakdown when my brain was unable to handle the duel thoughts of “TOYS!” and “oh my god so much money!”. I then spent two hours putting together Lego sets and worrying over the fact that I had pieces leftover. (Why, Lego? Why?)

blackdotAll the toys were Avengers and Iron Man based. I have an obsession, OK! Don’t judge me.

blackdotI got a raise at work! This means I’m once again making what I was in 2012 before the tax changes screwed everyone over. (Wholly unimpressed with this nation’s government.)

What am I reading?

Finished: Splintered by A.G. Howard
Started: Guardians Inc.: The Cypher by Julian Rosado-Machain
What Next: The Back Passage by James Lear, Cornerstone by Misty Provencher, Ignite by Kaitlyn Davis

Search Terms

skulduggery pleasant book 1 review – I get a ping for this term at least several times a day. Nobody ever leaves a comment. Not cool, people!

hugo cabret favortie parts of story – I didn’t like The Invention of Hugo Cabret all that much, so no favorite parts. Also, that’s not how you spell “favortie”.

read a novel for me the white wolf – No. Read your own books.

new adult books all the same – Well, possibly. In the way that Young Adult novels are all the same. There is just a pattern that certain types of stories follow and if you read enough in that genre then you can get pretty adapt at predicting where the story is going to go. If I’m reading a YA novel then I can at least have an idea of where the plot is going and what the characters are going to do. If a YA novel surprises me, then that is a mark of a great author that’s broken out of the mold. Otherwise, YA novels start to look the same after a while. New Adult will probably have the same problem.

Note Worthy Articles

Suit Says Sherlock Belongs to the Ages – NY Times
It was my understanding that the Sherlock Holmes stories were public property, the copyright being over a hundred years old and thus no longer valid in some way? So, it’s interesting that Doyle’s estate is making waves about it now.

By Any Other Name – NY Times
I find names and titles utterly fascinating and agonized over what pseudonym to use online.

7 Unexplained Movie Moments That You’ll Only Get If You’ve Read the Book (Or Seen the Original) – Film School Rejects

The Art of Browsing – The New Yorker
I am a big supporter of aimless wandering in a bookstore or library. I’ve found my favorite books that way.

This Book Will Change Your Life – Huffington Post
The benefits of going to an actual bookstore and talking with actual people.

From The Blogs

A Diversity Reading List from Ellen Oh – Epic Reads
Ellen’s excellent guest post about diversity in Young Adult and Kid lit and the need to expand our character base in novels.

Kathy from I Am A Reader, Not A Writer is pretty much doing the best thing ever and started a new blog, Feed Your Reader, where she posts free and low cost Kindle ebook links. Like I said, best thing ever.

E-Book Pricing and Freebies: Does Price Matter? – Parajunkee
Patti (what a coincidence, I spell my nickname with an ‘i’ too) talks about my favorite subject, ebooks. I agree with her completely. I just now added some freebie ebooks and I know I never would have even looked at those books if they hadn’t been free. If the novels are good enough, I’ll check out what else the author has written.

Added to the Kindle

Freebies & Bought

fridayramblefinds1

Guardians Inc.: The Cypher by Julian Rosado-Machain (Freebie!)

Cornerstone by Misty Provencher (Freebie!)

Ignite by Kaitlyn Davis (Freebie!)

fridayramblefinds2

Clockwise by Elle Strauss (Freebie!)

Become by Ali Cross (Freebie!)

backpassage

The Back Passage by James Lear (Bought)

At time of posting, status of freebie ebooks is current. That may change at a future date.

Etc.

The ebook for I Hunt Killers by Barry Lyga will be on sale today, for one day only. So if you haven’t read this extremely awesome book, you can pick it up for $1.99 on Friday March 8th only.
Amazon | B&N

Check out the trailer.

Thank you for reading!

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 34 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on March 8, 2013, in Friday Ramble and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. melissaseclecticbookshelf

    Happy belated birthday!! And enjoy those Legos:)

  2. Thanks for linking back to our Ellen Oh article!

Leave a Reply

