Friday Ramble 3/15/13

fridayramblelogo

Welcome to the Friday Ramble, where I share what has been going on in my life and on the blog the past week.

Bookish Blog News

blackdotI promise to get that giveaway for the Barry Lyga book up next week!

blackdotOnly one book review this week:
1) Book Review: Splintered by A.G. Howard

blackdotNew header and background up!

blackdotI’m working on a few articles right now, trying to edit and get my thoughts straight so I don’t end up rambling all over the place. (I do that a lot.)

Personal News

blackdotMy life is boring. Sorry.

blackdotYou want to know what is awesome? Signing up for things so you can get rewards and treats on your birthday. I’ve gotten a free desert, free ice cream, and free candy. I love free. For dinner tonight, I’m having free pasta.

What am I reading?

Finished: Guardians Inc.: The Cypher by Julian Rosado-Machain
Started: The Back Passage by James Lear
What Next: Clockwise by Elle Strauss or Become by Ali Cross

Search Terms

blackdotchild actors – About a year ago a reading challenge I was doing had us cast our book characters. I was reading a middle grade book at the time and used a lot of child actors to cast the characters in my book. That’s where this search term comes from. One post. A year ago.

blackdothouse of many ways book review – Ah, Diana Wynne Jones. Read all of her books, people. ALL OF THEM!

blackdotreviewers’ quotes for darkwood by m.e. breen – O_o Did somebody quote me somewhere and I’m not aware of it?

blackdotin the false prince is sage really jaron – Maybe. Read the book. Find out for yourself.

blackdottuesdays at the castle book report – Do your own homework, kids.

blackdotyoung adult novel cliches / young adult character cliches – Oh, yes. So, so many clichés. It hurts sometimes to read YA books.

blackdotlove reading books on my kindle – I do! I really do! You know, this is a complete turnaround from what I used to think. I thought ereaders were unnecessary but I’m having so much fun getting freebies and other things on my Kindle that I’ve fallen in love with the thing.

blackdotwitchlanders audio book free – Free audio book? I don’t think so. At least, not that I know of.

Note Worthy Articles

Agent Extraordinaire Mollie Glick on Trends, Self-Publishing & Truth Versus Fiction – The Huffington Post
The Book Doctors pick Mollie Glick’s brain about being an agent, helping new authors, and publishing books.

Videos: Popup Books Meet Animation, Magic Ensues – The Huffington Post

Apple CEO Tim Cook must give deposition in e-books antitrust lawsuit – The Washington Post
This type of crap burns my buns! I’m a big supporter of ebooks and it makes me so mad that publishers are messing with ebook prices. They’ve made it impossible for libraries to get ebooks for lending. It’s data! It should be cheaper.

We’ve Seen the Future of Comic Books and, Oh, Wait, It Crashed the Server – Co.CREATE
[laughs] I have an Avengers/Marvel Tumblr blog and a lot of the people I talk with were whining about the site being down and being unable to get their free comics. Lol! Comics aren’t relative anymore, my ass.

Unforeseen demand forces shutdown of Marvel Comics digital first issue promotion – Examiner

From The Blogs

After the so-called romance ruined my last read, I was pleased to see a piece about romance from Rachel @ Parajunkee. The Ten Things That Make Romance, a Bad Romance. She focuses on adult romances, which has a whole different set of problems from YA romance, but it’s interesting anyway.

Nicole @ WORD for Teens does a piece on plagiarism and the changing motivation for why people blog. Why do people plagiarize? Blogging has become a contest rather than a hobby and source of fun it should be.

Debby @ Snuggly Oranges (giggle Snuggly Oranges giggle; where was I?) has written another Book Nerd Problems post, this time about Social Awkwardness. This is pretty much everyone in the book blogging community. People are messy and loud and really boring. I’m of the age where most of my friends now have kids and I really, really don’t want to socialize with them if I have to deal with their spawn. I hate kids. (Children are nothing more than wild beasts but for some reason beating them with a rolled up newspaper is frowned upon. I don’t get it?) I much rather stay in and read. My book is a lot more interesting than what you did this week. Power to the nerds!

Google once again pissed everyone off by announcing they are shutting down their RSS feed reader come July 1, 2013. I’m now removing myself from all Google services because what is the point anymore if they are just going to abandon everything. Congratulations Google. Now nobody is using your services. Rachel @ Parajunkee writes The Death of Google Reader – ba ha ha ha ha ha and Kelly @ Radiant Shadows writes When Your Reader Goes Into Retirement, both with suggestions for other readers and reasons why you don’t need to panic. (Cultivate your epic rage, yes. Panic, no.)

Check out Kelly @ Radiant Shadows’ explosive post on ARCs, Release Dates and Reviews. Especially check out the numerous comments. Then head over to her follow up post, ARCs, Release Dates and Reviews: A Follow Up.

Added to the Kindle

Freebies!

freebies31513

The Ugly Stepsister Strikes Back by Sariah Wilson

Bakkian Chronicles, Book 1 – The Prophecy by Jeffrey Poole

Merry Lee and the Cursed Grandfather Clock by Amanda L. Kidd

At the time of posting, all freebies are current and correct.

Etc.

blackdotGoodreads: Currently, there are 158 books on my To Be Read shelf and 104 books on my Read shelf.

blackdotI got $50 from my parents for my birthday that I have not spent yet. Hmmm? What should I buy? Any suggestions, dear readers?

Thank you for reading!

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 34 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on March 15, 2013, in Friday Ramble and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. melissaseclecticbookshelf

    Don’t even get me started on the whole google reader thing…I am so scared that one day my blog will be gone!

  2. Oh hey, thanks for the shoutouts!

    I can’t even believe Google is getting rid of another service 😦 I’m debating between Bloglovin and Feedly right now.

Leave a Reply

