Musing Mondays (3\18\13)

musingmondayscatlogoMusing Mondays asks you to muse about one of the following each week…

• Describe one of your reading habits.
• Tell us what book(s) you recently bought for yourself or someone else, and why you chose that/those book(s).
• Tell us what you’re reading right now — what you think of it, so far; why you chose it; what you are (or, aren’t) enjoying it.
• Do you have a bookish rant? Something about books or reading (or the industry) that gets your ire up? Share it with us!
• Instead of the above questions, maybe you just want to ramble on about something else pertaining to books — let’s hear it, then!

bookpeeveA character’s name is very important. By giving a character a certain name, you can make them seem mysterious, brave, cruel, or any number of things. You can also make them seem silly. I know authors try to make their characters stand out in a crowd but if I giggle every time I read that character’s name then you’ve lost any chance I’ll take the book seriously. Also, if two characters’ names are very similar looking then that has a habit of tripping up a reader. It’s very annoying to be flying along and get confused when you have to backtrack to make sure you read a character’s name right when something doesn’t add up. (This happened to me a lot in a book where two main characters that had a great deal of scene time with each other were called Thomas and Tony. My brain just blew past the T names and then I ended up confused when I mixed them up. I skim read, ok! It’s what happened when you’re in the zone.)

I finished my first gay erotica book this weekend. Now, I’m used to reading erotica on the internet but this was the first time I’d read a book instead of a piece of fanfiction. (It was very good and I’ve already bought the second book in the series.) But I just have to pause and say – erotica is silly. There, I said it. The cat is out of the bag. It’s silly. The sex is silly and giggle worthy. The reproductive process of humans is ridiculous.  It’s messy and awkward and if what I was reading were happening in real life, then probably painful. I laughed a lot. I probably looked like a loon. I giggled when character A’s dick was being stroked by character B’s hand. It’s stupid but we read it anyway. I don’t know why either. Humans are odd.

Speaking of erotica, I need to announce that my reviews will now be labeled with appropriate age levels and warnings. Meaning erotica (having graphic sex), adult, young adult, and middle grade books. The first, will be posted late at night. (What should I call it? After Dark? Red Light Books?) I’m doing this so readers will be able to avoid posts they don’t wish to read or are too young for. (Not that I expect that to stop any curious teen but I promise to keep any erotica book talk fairly clean for public consumption.)

It’s Monday, the Irish lady who usually answers phones took the day off to recover from Saint Patrick’s Day, so I’m stuck doing phones all day long. I hate phones. But this also means I get to prop my Kindle up against the computer screen and read. But still, phones. Ugh. (I hate phones because people are rude and the help desk set up is asinine. I must content myself with copious amounts of coffee to get through the day instead of hard liquor.)

Thank you for reading!

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 33 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on March 18, 2013, in book meme, Musing Mondays, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I don’t like phones, either…I had so many phone issues with my job of dealing with families in crisis (did it for thirty years!) that I now won’t even answer my phone at home. Unless it’s someone I want to talk to, of course; so grateful for Caller ID!

    I don’t like characters that confuse me by their names, either; and I also don’t like characters who scream a lot. lol

    Here’s MY MUSING MONDAYS POST

  2. Sometimes I can’t take to a characters name – as in it somehow doesn’t suit them – and then others are just perfect. It does make a difference to whether I enjoy a book or not. Here’s my MM: http://daystarz.wordpress.com/2013/03/18/musing-mondays-march-18/

  1. Pingback: Friday Ramble (3/22/13) | Lady With Books

Leave a Reply

