Book Review: Guardians Inc.: The Cypher by Julian Rosado-Machain

middlegradecypherGuardians Inc.: The Cypher by Julian Rosado-Machain
Published February 26th 2011 by Julian Rosado-Machain
Format: Kindle ebook
Length: 238 pages / 746 KB
Genre: Fantasy, Science Fiction, Magic, Adventure
Reading Level: Middle Grade
Goodreads | Amazon

GUARDIANS INC.: THE CYPHER is two stories in one. A glimpse into a multinational company that is in reality the oldest of secret societies, one that spans close to seven thousand years of existence, weaving in and out of history, guiding and protecting humanity from creatures and forces that most of us believe are only mythology and fairy tales.

The other is the story of Thomas Byrne, a young man thrust into secrets he shouldn’t be aware of and dangers he shouldn’t face but, that he ultimately will, for he is a Cypher. The only one who can steer humanity’s future.

The ultimate conspiracy theory is that Magic is real. Kept in check by technology but, every five hundred years the balance can shift and, if it does, technology will fail and those creatures we’ve driven into myth will come back with a vengeance.

To protect the present, Guardians Incorporated needs to know the future.

I adore middle grade books because they are usually the most creative, original, and adventurous of the books I read. I love young adult books but they often fall into a couple established patterns. Middle grade books seem to avoid doing that somehow. I’m more likely to take a chance on an unknown middle grade book than I am a young adult book for that reason. I took a chance on Guardians Inc.: The Cypher by Julian Rosado-Machain because the Kindle ebook was being given away as a freebie. The story sucked me in from the get go and I’m so glad I took the chance.

There is a bit of a fake out in the beginning of the book where we think we might be getting a story that focuses on two people. But Thomas’ Gramps is soon shuffled off to the side and we get to focus on Thomas’ adventure with being the long awaited Cypher and the new and unusual world of magic and mythical creatures and a mansion that is more than what it seems that he has suddenly found himself in the middle of. The world-building in this book is fantastic and I found myself walking a couple blocks to the left just in case I could find those brick pillars. I couldn’t help it. The characters are likable and interesting. There is more than one twist and all are surprising and well done. The dynamic that we see a very short glance of between Thomas and his Gramps, Morgan, is interesting and I can’t wait to see grandson and grandfather pitted against each other in the second book.

Guardians Inc.: The Cypher by Julian Rosado-Machain is a prime example of why I love middle grade books. It displays the type of pure imagination and adventure that I look for in books of this reading level. The first book is short and a bit of a tease. I was able to get it as a freebie from Amazon and sure enough, I was sufficiently interested to go buy the second book. So, well played author, well played. You have hooked this reader.

Thank you for reading!

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 34 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on March 19, 2013, in book review, fiction, modern fantasy and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

