Friday Ramble (3/22/13)

fridayramblelogo

Welcome to the Friday Ramble, where I share what has been going on in my life and on the blog the past week.

Bookish Blog News

blackdotMusing Mondays – Book Peeve rant and a little bit about my first gay erotica book.

blackdotTwo book reviews for this week:
1) Book Review: Guardians Inc.: The Cypher by Julian Rosado-Machain (Middle Grade)
2) Book Review: The Back Passage by James Lear (Erotica – Adults Only Please)

blackdotIn light of my decision to include erotica book reviews and other adult only books on this blog, I am instituting a new rating system. Book reviews will be marked with middle grad, young adult, adult, and erotica graphics. I expect everyone to adhere to these ratings and browse at their discretion. Erotica posts will be cut with links to the full post so people who wish to avoid those posts can easily do so. Click here to see the rating graphics. Thank you.

Personal News

blackdotI have lost 10 pounds! Thank you. Thank you. I’m a long way from my ultimate goal but every mini goal deserves a reward. Pizza for dinner!

blackdotMy friend’s new house is haunted. We thought it was but now she’s seen shadows and I’ve seen movement in window reflections. Last Saturday night I was there and was sitting on the sofa with the cats with my back to the hallway when Jinx (the cat) suddenly sat straight up and stared with wide eyes at something behind me. I thought for sure one of the kids had gotten up and was in the hallway but when I turned there was nothing there. There is a creep-tastic room down in the basement that neither of us like. So, so haunted.

What am I reading?

Finished: The Back Passage by James Lear
Started: The Secret Tunnel by James Lear, Merry Lee and the Cursed Grandfather Clock by Amanda L. Kidd
What Next: Clockwise by Elle Strauss

Search Terms

blackdotjanet edwards earth girl “janet edwards” – I have no idea how this pinged me.

blackdotsplintered book giveaway – Well, I did a review of Splintered by A.G. Howard but no giveaway.

blackdotpamela yesterday – You mean the Merlin series by Pamela Service? Sure. Here, here, and here.

blackdotostara cover photos – Yep, Wednesday was Ostara and the first day of spring but I had no photos up. Sorry.

blackdothappy first day of spring script – No idea.

blackdotereader books are just characters – What?

blackdotwitch catcher mary downing hahn book club letter – I have a reveiw of that book up on this blog but I have no idea what book club letter is about.

blackdotand then I found you patti callahan henry – No idea.

blackdotzombie with coffeee – Pinged me becasue of this graphic:

coffee zombie

Note Worthy Articles

25th Annual Lambda Award Finalists – Lambda Literary
The LLF announces the finalists for the Lammy award for best LGBT books in 2012. (Here too.)

Instrested in LGBT books and issues, than visit the blog for The Lambda Literary Foundation.

Do We Need to Identify With a Protagonist to Enjoy a Novel? – The Huffington Post
Maybe. Maybe not. I’m perfectly willing to be taken out of my comfort zone and walk in another man’s shoes, as it were. If the main character of a novel was just like me I think I’d get pretty bored with books. At the same time, I know that there is a line of alienism that will put me off a book, where the author may go too far beyond what I am familiar with that the novel turns me off. I guess it just depends on how good of a writer the author is.

19 Incredibly Awkward Children’s Book Titles – Buzzfeed
Can’t stop laughing…

From The Blogs

Nicole @ WORD for Teens does a wrap up of her Characterize miniseries, with links to all the previous posts.

Kat @ Cuddlebuggery explains The Hunger Games In 10 Lines and I spend several minutes giggling into my keyboard.

Rachel @ Parajunkee writes a post about Comparing One Book to Another and how reading a ranty blog post about the subject has made her self-conscious in writing her own reviews. I think reading too many tips and trick posts about blogging can actually be harmful. We end up trying to conform to other people’s rules and wondering if this or that fits other people’s idea of right and proper.

I have to point out the blog of one Jen Campbell, author of the book Weird Things Customers Say in Bookstores (Goodreads). She’s awesome and the book is hilarious. Check out her Tumblr blog. (No, really! Go check out her Tumblr blog! It is also awesome and hilarious.)

Bookslut – Just read the blog. Go. Shoo. It’s awesome.

Added to the Kindle

Bought

thundersword

Thundersword (Guardians Inc. #2) by Julian Rosado-Machain

Sorry! No freebies this week.

Etc.

blackdotGoodreads: My bookshelf has 165 to read books and 106 read books.

Thank you for reading!

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 33 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on March 22, 2013, in Friday Ramble and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. melissaseclecticbookshelf

    Congrats on the 10 pounds…!!

Leave a Reply

