Friday Ramble 4/19/13

fridayramblelogo

Welcome to the Friday Ramble, where I share what has been going on in my life and on the blog the past week.

Bookish Blog News

blackdot I talk about some of my reading habits in this week’s Musing Mondays post.

blackdot Two book reviews:
1) The Witches’ Kitchen by Allen Williams
2) Scorch by Gina Damico

blackdot And of course, this week’s Friday Finds.

Personal News

blackdot I’m boring. Nothing much happened this week.

blackdot I spent $70 at the home improvement store getting three trellises, two railing hooks, and two hanging baskets. Tomorrow, I’ll go back and get a big pot so I can plant my Morning Glory flowers on my balcony. I’ll stick the trellises in the pot and try to keep the vines from eating the whole building.

blackdot It’s spring! Time to garden!

blackdot I finally watched The Hunger Games movie. Meh. It was okay. Next, I’m going to watch The Hobbit. (Which better be the best freaking movie ever because it’s over 3 hours long. Holy Hell…)

What am I reading?

Finished: Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter, The Runaway King by Jennifer A. Nielsen, The False Princess by Eilis O’Neal
Started: A Sticky End by James Lear
What Next: Etiquette & Espionage by Gail Carriger

Search Terms

blackdot secret tunnel ebook james lear – Review here.

blackdot i hunt killers sequel – It’s called ‘Game‘ and is now available.

blackdot the false prince roden – Roden is one of the other boys. He plays a big part in the sequel, The Runaway King, which I just finished and will review next week.

blackdot modern fantasy stories for grade one –  Grade One? Sorry, a little too young for me.

blackdot what type of books did diana wynne-jones read as a child – I’d say some really awesome ones because she was a fantastic fantasy author. She’ll be greatly missed.

blackdot who are the characters in the book, the raven boys – Blue, Gansey, Adam, Ronan, and Noah.

blackdot the raven boys(book review – Here.

blackdot the automaton my father discovered did save me. but now i have built a new automaton. i spent countless hours designing it. i made every gear myself, carefully cut every brass disk, and fashioned every last bit of machinery with me own hands. – It’s a quote from The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick. Review here.

blackdot antagonist in croak – Zara, with a side of Norwood and Heloise.

blackdot what is the difference between young adult and new adult – Well, mostly the only difference is the slightly older age of the characters and a lot more nookie. (Yeah, I don’t get it either.)

Note Worthy Articles

11 Biggest Book-to-Big Screen Adaptations of the Last 25 Years – The Hollywood Reporter

A Selection of Fascinating E-book Innovations From the Past Year – Flavorwire

Griffins, Unicorns, and Yet Weirder Chimerae: Unnatural Creatures, edited by Neil Gaiman and Maria Dahvana Headley – Tor.com

25 Rare Photos of Famous Authors – QWIKLIT.com

Fairy Tales: Still Living, Happily or Not – Huffington Post
In Cinderella, the two stepsisters cut off their toes and heels to try and fit in the glass slipper. And then when the Prince and Cinderella are getting married birds peck out their eyes. Real fairytales are kind of gruesome.

From The Blogs

Debby @ Snuggly Oranges does a Top 10 countdown of her favorite book blogs/bloggers, a lot of whom are also my favorites. Also, Debby went to Hogwarts and I’m am full of jealousy!

Nicole @ WORD for Teens talks a little bit about Alpha-male syndrome and YA literature and how unequal romantic partners don’t work for her, using Twilight as the best known example.

Check out Readers Don’t Owe Authors Sh*t over at Book Riot. Especially read through the comments, those are the most interesting part.

Bewitched Bookworms talk about what we are all so obsessed with ARC’s on their Discussed! post. Also, read the awesome comments!

Books Added This Week

Kindle Freebie

Ghost Betweens by Eric J. Krause

The Iron Butterfly by Chanda Hahn

Galibrath’s Will by Billy Bob Buttons

Sora’s Quest by T.L. Shreffler

A Job From Hell by Jayde Scott

At time of posting, all Kindle Freebies are correct.

From the Library

fflibrary41913

Etiquette & Espionage by Gail Carriger

A Conspiracy of Alchemists by Liesel Schwarz

Small Medium at Large by Joanne Levy

The False Princess by Eilis O’Neal

Etc.

At the time of this post, there are 178 books on my Goodreads to be read shelf and 114 books on my Goodreads read shelf.

Thank you for reading!

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 34 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on April 19, 2013, in Friday Ramble and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

