Musing Mondays 5/13/13

musingmondayscatlogoMusing Mondays asks you to muse about one of the following each week. Hosted by Should Be Reading.

• Describe one of your reading habits.
• Tell us what book(s) you recently bought for yourself or someone else, and why you chose that/those book(s).
• What book are you currently desperate to get your hands on? Tell us about it!
• Tell us what you’re reading right now — what you think of it, so far; why you chose it; what you are (or, aren’t) enjoying it.
• Do you have a bookish rant? Something about books or reading (or the industry) that gets your ire up? Share it with us!
• Instead of the above questions, maybe you just want to ramble on about something else pertaining to books — let’s hear it, then!

GameI feel like I should get a prize or something. Maybe a gold star next to my name? I have finished the biggest, nastiest book I can remember ever reading (that wasn’t a school text book).Last week I was lamenting the size of Game by Barry Lyga, sequel to I Hunt Killers. At over 500 pages, I despaired of finishing it. I thought Game would lag and fail to hold my attention. I was wrong. Wow, was I wrong. I couldn’t put it down. I finished in three days and that’s just because I had to stop and do actual work while at work. (shakes fist) I’m pretty sure Game is the largest fiction book I’ve ever read. It still had some problems but, overall, it was really good. I’ll have a full review up on…oh… let’s say Wednesday.

orleansI just started reading Orleans by Sherri L. Smith. I was tootling around the library and recognized the cover from a few other reviews. (Pretty cover. Sparkly.) I took a chance. I like the beginning, where the timeline and news articles give us a brief idea of what’s going on. I thought that was clever. Then we got into the meat of the story and I ran into the wall of the protagonist’s speech pattern. (whimper) It’s first person POV, which isn’t my favorite, and then Fen has the stereotypical (and in my opinion, cartoonish) deep bayou speech pattern that threw me so far that I landed on a different world.

I can understand the reasoning behind using it but I can’t understand why the author thought it would be a good idea. It’s like Smith wrote Orleans correctly the first time and then went back and just threw around a bunch of ‘be’ and ‘they’ and whatever it took to kill proper grammar. It does not help that I can’t get the picture of Fen as a little old black lady, smacking her toothless gums, out of my head because of it. Nothing drives me crazier than improper grammar. Smith must have driven her editor nuts. It makes reading the book jerky because my mind stumbles over it, thinking “that’s not right”. Very hard to read a book like that. It would have been just fine if just the dialogue was like that but the whole book it just too much.

ironman3logoI have to gush for a moment. I saw Iron Man 3 on Saturday! (Lights the candles on her Robert Downey Jr. shrine.) [Not really. I’m not that nuts.] {Well, not quite.} (Yet.) I’m obsessed with the Marvel movies and with Iron Man in particular, so I loved it. At the same time, (sobs) what the HELL did you people do!? The Mandarin!? (cries) Extremis!? (moans) That bloody ending! (dying whale sound) [SPOILER] If Tony could just have the shrapnel and arc reactor surgically removed, then why didn’t he do that back in Iron Man 2 when he was freaking dying!? Or are we supposed to take that to mean Tony injected himself with Extremis and would now survive the surgery when he wouldn’t have before? Why would you leave us so confused!? I mean, I know Mr. Downey isn’t signed up for Iron Man 4 (if there is one at all) and you have to work around that and that Marvel is having problems locking him down for Avengers 2 (You go, Robert!) but did you have to leave it so open ended? I think I’m having a nervous breakdown…

I need a bloody drink. I cannot deal with this.

Thank you for reading!

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 33 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on May 13, 2013, in book meme, Musing Mondays and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. 500 pages is about 100 more than I think any book should be…

    • Even 400 pages is a bit of a stretch for me in a young adult book. If I didn’t absolutely love I Hunt Killers, the prequel, I probably would have passed on Game because of the size. It’s like a brick and that might put some other readers off.

  2. both the books you mentioned are new to me..
    but the rant about Iron Man 3 – I agree with you !! every sentence..

  1. Pingback: Friday Ramble 5/17/13 | Lady With Books

Leave a Reply

