The Frustrations of Being in a Big, Nasty Slump.

screenbeanslumpI, am in a slump. A reading slump. A blogging slump. A life slump. A slump of epic proportions. The mack-daddy of all slumps. I’m not interested in doing anything really. I’m in the middle of Orleans by Sherri L. Smith and I’m just kind of muddling through it. I’ve had it for over three weeks but I just can’t seem to muster the interest to concentrate on it. That’s ridiculous. We have a nice long three day weekend coming up, usually a good chance to get some reading done, but all I can think about is finally getting some sleep without being startled awake by the dame alarm every morning.

I know everyone has slumps. Just a while ago I was reading three or four books a week and now I can’t seem to focus on just one. Orleans is a perfectly good book (despite the main character’s annoying speech pattern) and I could finish it in an evening if only I could kick my butt in gear. What do I do? People always suggest rereading a favorite book to reignite the fire but the very idea bores me to tears. I find rereading books boring. I’ve already read it once; why would I read it again? It’s not like it’s changed. (I might rewatch a movie I like a couple of times, just because there are new things to notice in visual media.)

Another suggestion is to read something different but, well, if I don’t have any interest in reading in the first place I can’t see that helping. Orleans is already something different since I don’t usually go for dystopias. Maybe I should pick up a good, old middle grade book? Those are usually my favorites. My Kindle is full of freebies that are just begging to be read and my to be read pile is not getting any smaller with me just sitting here. Ugh! I don’t have any interest in writing either and I have two stories that I haven’t updated in over a week. My life is an empty desert and there is no oasis in sight. (I like that. I need to remember that. Very teenage angst-ish.) Oh the inhumanity of it all!

Needless to say, there will be no book review this week. Maybe I should go out and do something this weekend? Something non-book related. If only my tax refunds would come in, then I’d have the cash to really have some fun. (Hello? Government? Are you there? I’d like my money, please.) The farmer’s markets are just opening and that’s like two birds with one stone; food shopping and getting out of the apartment. Blah. Help me, my will to live is being sapped.

Thank you for listening to me whine.

Thank you for reading!

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 34 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on May 21, 2013, in about the blogger and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. ack! I know Slump-town way too well, it seems like it has a domino effect too…the hardest part is finding the way out when you have a hard time putting one foot in front of the other. I have a pile of books waiting for me too, it’s been building since Christmas and I’m usually like you, 3-4 books a week was my norm. You know what’s helping me? You. Word Press. Other bloggers here. Thank you for sharing your slump, somehow it’s kicking me in the ass a little bit, maybe I’ll actually start going thru that ever-growing stack of books calling my name 🙂

    • Just talking about it (well, whining about it) has seemed to help some. I was able to go home last night and read a little and I didn’t feel like I was trudging uphill. It’s depressing when a hobby becomes something of a chore. I need to pull myself up by the bootstraps and get going. I hate being in a slump!

Leave a Reply

