Friday Ramble 5/31/13

fridayramblelogo

Welcome to the Friday Ramble, where I share what has been going on in my life and on the blog the past week.

Welcome to June!

Okay, I’m one day early but I thought this would be a good point to do the May round up post rather than wait a whole week to do it next Friday. You’ll all live…

May Reviews

blackdot The False Princess by Eilis O’Neal

blackdot Etiquette & Espionage by Gail Carriger

blackdot Game by Barry Lyga

blackdot Orleans by Sherri L. Smith

blackdot Also, check out my post about what attracts us to a book, the proper use of the book spine, and things I look for in a book title in Book Real Estate: The Spine; Font & Phonics.

Bookish Blog News

blackdot Next month will be my second year blogging anniversary. The week of July 14th to the 20th will be a week of celebration and giveaways. I’ll have several small giveaways and then one big mystery box giveaway. I’ve been collecting things for the big mystery box giveaway for weeks now, so I can say with certainty that it will be an awesome prize. There will be a few games with prizes and as many book reviews as I can manage for that week. It’s going to be a huge party and I hope to see you all here.

blackdot On that note, I would like to invite guest bloggers. I would love to feature other book bloggers during this week. If you have a book blog, no matter how big or small, and would like to be a guest blogger here on Lady with Books then email me. Guest bloggers will answer some interview questions, include highlights from their own blogs, and create a book related game or activity if they wish. I’m open to other ideas. Email me at ladywithbooks@yahoo.com if you are interested.

Personal News

blackdot Shortened work week with Memorial Day on Monday and it still feels like it will never end.

blackdot I went to the doctor yesterday, an endocrinologist. I’ve been trying to figure out why my hair keeps falling out for the better part of a bloody year now and my General Practitioner was out of ideas. I’ve had several blood tests to check my thyroid and vitamin levels that came back normal. So, I’m left with hormonal problem. I know I have PCOS (meaning my girly functions are whacky), so I knew something was happening down there that wasn’t right. Dr. Thurman was nice, very funny, and put me on a few meds. Apparently, my thyroid is a little low but just not low enough for my GP to bother with. Two blood tests, a year of bugging my doctor, and she can’t be bothered to clarify that when my test results say ‘normal’ that really meant ‘just a little low’. I may kill someone. Possibly my GP.

blackdot So, new meds. A low level thyroid med, a water pill, and something that I’ve forgotten what it does. I was warned they may mess up my stomach for a few days and, wow, understatement. I’m hoping this passes quickly because it’s no fun running to the bathroom every 30 minutes. Ugh. Time will tell if this helps my hair loss. Here’s hoping!

Memorial Day Reading Challenge

Before the long weekend, I set up a little mini challenge for myself. I’d been in a slump and wanted to see if I could kick my butt into gear. I ended up reading three of the four books on my to be read pile.

memorialreading

I finished:

Summerkin by Sarah Prineas

Kat, Incorrigible by Stephanie Burgis

Allison Hewitt is Trapped by Madeleine Roux

I did not finish:

Demon Eyes by Scott Tracey

At almost 400 pages long, Demon Eyes by Scott Tracey was the largest of the four books and I just couldn’t finish it in time. Poo! All in all, not a bad count for a reading challenge. You may expect those reviews to start showing up next week.

Have a great weekend everyone!

Thank you for reading!

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 34 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on May 31, 2013, in Friday Ramble and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

