Library: Spencer Road Library

I’ve been meaning forever to show you guys the new library in my town. When I lived with my parents, Spencer Road Library was the one my family frequented and was the largest in town. It was also beginning to have structural problems and dampness. So, they closed it down in the beginning of 2012 and demolished it. (They took all the books out first. Don’t worry.) Over the year we watched a new, shiny library with a bigger parking lot (thank all the gods) go up in its place. It opened in the beginning of 2013 and it is amazing.

spencerfront

 

It’s built in a boomerang shape, with two wings off the lobby. The children’s section is on the left and pretty much everything else is on the right. I can’t hear a thing from the noisy little buggers. (My biggest peeve is some little brat screaming in the children’s section because their parents won’t tape their mouths shut like a reasonable human being.) The lobby has a rolling ball fountain and a new check out desk. They even have little carts for your book gathering pleasure. The magazine section is huge and there are comfy armchairs everywhere, in every little nook and cranny. You can almost forget you’re in the middle of a busy library in your little hidey hole.

spencerfloor

 

spenceryaroom

 

That, my friends, is the young adult section. Yep, that whole room. Instead of a shelf or two, we now have a whole room. I’ve yet to search for a book they did not have present. No ordering, no waiting. It is awesome. All of the signs are made of black iron and stained glass. Much better than the pieces of paper taped up on the walls they were using. The upstairs has meeting rooms and a huge computer lab. Everything smells nice and new and shiny. There is even a little coffee bar and snack machine and honest to god pastries for sell. You can sit in front of the huge windows and sip your coffee and read and it’s honestly the best library I’ve ever been in.

spencesigns

 

Of course, now that I’ve moved out of my parents’ house, the Spencer Road Library is a bit of a drive. The rinky-dink (and smelly) McClay Road Library is the closest to me now and they never have anything I want present and only a single shelf for young adult books. (And the children’s section is right next to it with all its screaming little demons.) It’s very depressing. Woe is me!

I’m going into the city this weekend for Pagan Picnic and a wander around Tower Grove Park and South Grand. I’ll probably stop by Dunaway Books at the same time. So, expect some pictures and a post about that bookstore next week. Then it’s probably lunch at MoKaBe’s Coffeehouse. I plan to come back sunburnt and broke. If you’re in the garden district in Saint Louis over the weekend, I hope to see ya there! Have a good weekend everyone!

Thank you for reading!

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 33 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on June 7, 2013, in bookstore feature and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. melissaseclecticbookshelf

    Wow, that library is huge:)

Leave a Reply

