Musing Mondays 6/17/13

musingmondayscatlogoMusing Mondays asks you to muse about one of the following each week… Hosted by Should Be Reading.

• Describe one of your reading habits.
• Tell us what book(s) you recently bought for yourself or someone else, and why you chose that/those book(s).
• What book are you currently desperate to get your hands on? Tell us about it!
• Tell us what you’re reading right now — what you think of it, so far; why you chose it; what you are (or, aren’t) enjoying it.
• Do you have a bookish rant? Something about books or reading (or the industry) that gets your ire up? Share it with us!
• Instead of the above questions, maybe you just want to ramble on about something else pertaining to books — let’s hear it, then!

I am about to commit a cardinal library sin. I am about to knowingly keep a book over its due date. Why? Because it is The Nightmare Affair by Mindee Arnett, it’s due today, and I’m not done with it. Worse, I can’t renew it because the book is brand spanking new and other people have it on reserve. No renewals possible on a book other people are requesting. (whimper) Don’t hate me! I’ll return it tomorrow and give you the ten cents. But, I waited to read The Nightmare Affair until last and now I’m racing to finish it. I don’t think I can do it before tonight. There is a little thing called work in my way. (Dang it!) (hides face in shame)

Has anyone else had to do this before? Have you ever just needed one more night on a book you couldn’t renew and just pretended to forget so you could keep it? I’m going to book hell, I just know it! The only book there will be War and Peace in the original Russian…

I spent a lazy Saturday catching up on some writing projects and doing a bit of cleaning. I’m having a party next weekend and I’m trying to space out the things I need to do to get ready so I’m not rushing around like a chicken with my head cut off come Saturday morning. Then I spent all of Sunday over at the parents’ house for Father’s Day, praising the crotchety old bastard. My brother and I got a bit more done on cleaning out the basement and then he grilled some pork steaks while I made a mountain of mashed potatoes. (Then I got to listen to my Dad’s disapproval over my washing machine acting up. He seems to think that something completely out of my control is a reflection of how well I can manage my life. He did the same thing when the brakes on my car were squeaking. I love my family, really I do.)

So, how was everyone else’s weekend?

Thank you for reading!

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 33 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on June 17, 2013, in book meme, Musing Mondays and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. OMG that is too funny. I don’t think the library gods will be too upset. I am always late with my books, I just don’t have time sometimes to return them. They usually belong to one of my kids though so they are not new releases. All the same that is why we pay late fees.

    http://cynthia2729.wordpress.com/2013/06/17/musing-mondays-june-17/

  2. I have done that when I really wanted to finish the book. The great thing is that my library does not charge fines. I do try to finish a soon as possible because I know how much I resent people who do the same thing when I am waiting for a book. I love your Must Love Cats and Books.

  3. now if you promise tomorrow I will give my blessing! lol

  4. i remember doing the same to Harry Potter and the Deathly Hollows! haha 🙂

    my musing mondays:
    http://wp.me/p3v5T1-6h

  5. I lucked out everyone! I read like a demon and finished just before 8:30pm. Good thing my library doesn’t close until 9pm! I raced in with 10 minutes to spare and returned it. That was a close one!

Leave a Reply

