Booking Through Thursday 7/11/13

bookingthroughthursday1

Our question for this week is: My dog just had his birthday (12 years old, thanks), so … how do you feel about books about dogs or pets? Fluffy stories of fluffy family members? Solid books on training them or taking care of them? Touching reminiscences of trouble and the way a person’s dog (or pet) has helped get them through?

(Mind you, almost all the pet-related books on my shelf are about dogs, but I’m well aware that people love their cats, horses, ferrets, rabbits, fish, etc. just as much, so … any species is fine!)

Any favorite books to recommend?

What pet lover doesn’t want the chance to yammer about their animals? I’ve had a rabbit and two cats as pets over the years and while I don’t currently have a pet, I still have fond memories of the animals I had. When my parents agreed we could get pets, I went to the library and got every bunny care book and then every cat care book they had. I was the most knowledgeable little brat to ever set foot in an animal shelter. I’m a firm believer that an animal owner must know how to care for their pets and no matter what type of pet you have, it’s your duty to learn everything you can. Go out and read the animal care books. Be knowledgeable about your pets.

I’ve read a lot of animal based fiction and nonfiction books. They pretty much are guaranteed to have me sobbing by the end. Some of my favorites are:

Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the World by Vicki Myron
I was actually reading this book while meeting some friends at a Barnes & Noble coffee shop and started crying several times, it was so heartbreaking.

Marley and Me: Life and Love With the World’s Worst Dog by John Grogan
I enjoyed the movie but absolutely adore the book. Another animal book that had me sobbing.

Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White
That’ll do, pig. That’ll do.

Black Beauty by Anna Sewell

Old Yeller by Fred Gipson, Steven Polson
Because it’s not a proper animal book unless it breaks your soul.

The Velveteen Rabbit by Margery Williams
If you didn’t read this as a child then there is something wrong with your childhood.

All Creatures Great and Small by James Herriot

There are others. Cat characters were my favorite when I was a child and I’ve read too many animal children’s books to remember all of them. But those were the novel sized animal books that I’ve enjoyed most over the years. I think somewhere in my parent’s house is the bunny care book I used most and then I’m sure one or two books on cats.

Thank you for reading!

Facebook | Twitter | Bloglovin’ | Goodreads

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 33 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on July 11, 2013, in book meme, Booking Through Thursday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. People’s eyes start to glaze over when I talk about my kittens but if they get to talk about their kids and show me endless photos, then I figure I’m entitled. Lots of the books you listed are really sad. I went with books that were more light-hearted Backchatting Books BTT

Leave a Reply

