Musing Mondays 7/15/13

musingmondayscatlogoI had a post all prepared and scheduled for posting this morning only to find MizB had done a fake out and posted a different question than normal! Grrr! So you’re getting two posts for the price of one because I’m not changing my original rambling. Neener!

Our question this week is: What do you think of books that give you recommended reading lists? Do you read them? Do you use their suggestions? Why/why not?

{eg. “THE BOOK OF BOOKS: The Continuously Updated Book Guide to Recommended Reading…” or “BOOK LUST” by Nancy Pearl}

I must confess that this is the first time I’ve heard of this. There are whole books that are nothing more than recommendations for other books? Are they like reviews or just a list of books, the blurb, and then some “READ THIS” shouting? That doesn’t sound very fun. I might follow some of the suggestions if they had a theme. Like “The Best YA Books of the 90’s” or something like that. But, really, I could find a Listopia list on Goodreads easier. Seems like a waste of paper to me.

I did once follow a list of recommendations for books you should read in your lifetime or to be considered “well read”, or whatever it was. I was 21 and I was determined to be brainy and superior. It didn’t end well. I was bored out of my mind reading those books. That was my last attempt to read “the classics”. Apparently, I should stick with my lowbrow paranormal silliness and fantasy clichés. {shrug}

musing mondays logoMusing Mondays asks you to muse about one of the following each week… Hosted by Should Be Reading.

• Describe one of your reading habits.
• Tell us what book(s) you recently bought for yourself or someone else, and why you chose that/those book(s).
• What book are you currently desperate to get your hands on? Tell us about it!
• Tell us what you’re reading right now — what you think of it, so far; why you chose it; what you are (or, aren’t) enjoying it.
• Do you have a bookish rant? Something about books or reading (or the industry) that gets your ire up? Share it with us!
• Instead of the above questions, maybe you just want to ramble on about something else pertaining to books — let’s hear it, then!

Have you ever changed because of a book? Changed a way of thinking? Stopped a habit? Started a habit? Seen something differently after reading a book? I’ve been thinking about this for some time. Book lovers read a lot and we get a lot of different ideas and points of view from books. Those books make us chance, whether we know it or not. So, what book changed you the most?

This is kind of silly, but I can remember when I first read The Wee Free Men by Terry Pratchett. It is the first book in the Tiffany Aching series, set parallel to Pratchett’s Discworld series and deals with the Witches. The Witches books are my favorite of the Discworld series. But ever since I read it I started to carry a piece of string in my purse just because I thought it was funny. In the book, Tiffany professes to always carry a piece of string because it can be endlessly useful. My piece of string was soon joined by safety pins, tape, gum, hair ties, and other bits and bobs. Imagine my surprise when everything turned out to be endlessly useful. I had adopted a habit.

That’s a silly example but I thought it was fun. We read so many books that it can be hard to see the many different ways that those books change us. They take us outside of ourselves and we get to experience different lives, different ways of living, and travel both our own world and made-up world of fantasy. Our own lives would be tiny without books.

borderswish

Yesterday was the beginning of my second year blogiversary celebration. The entry forms for the Mystery Box Giveaway and the Gaiman Pack Giveaway are already up. Be sure to stop by frequently to check out new posts. The celebration runs all week.

I’ve been reading as many books as I can so I can review a book a day during the blogiversary celebration. I went out last week and spent more money than I really should to get books for the Mystery Book Giveaway and several books I wanted to review. I need to get a few more things for the Gaiman Pack Giveaway. The little book shop I was at didn’t have everything I wanted. I’ll have to make a run to the Barnes and Noble and I’ve been too lazy to drive all the way out there. (Listen to me, “all the way out there”. It’s the other side of town. It would take 15 minutes. Ugh. I fail at life.) So, now I have a huge stack of books that in a week will be going to someone else. I may cry when I mail them off.

Thank you for reading!

Facebook | Twitter | Bloglovin’ | Goodreads

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 34 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on July 15, 2013, in book meme, Musing Mondays and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. That is an interesting question. I never thought of it before. I don’t recall adopting any habits or anything from reading a book but I could see it happening. I will have to pay more attention to this for a while.

  2. I also ignored her question and did my own thing! I do think books change us, they certainly help us escape. You can find my musing here: http://gwynnethwhite.blogspot.com/

  3. I really try to keep an open mind when it comes to reading books and even though I feel like I won’t like it, I still give it a chance and read it. I’ve discovered unexpected new favorites from keeping an open mind. 🙂

    Andrea K. @ Books and Bindings
    Monday Madness
    Musing Mondays

  4. I did the same thing but answered the question in my comment and posted my original post. I love how you stated to carry things because of a book. What a great post. I would love to have you stop by and comment. Click here to go to Mixed Book Bag

  5. A lot of books have changed me including Chicken Soup for the Soul: Teens Talk Tough Times, A Thousand Splendid Sunds, The Fault in Our Stars, Hunger Games, Pretty Little Liars, The Little Prince, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, and they changed me for different reasons. You learn so much from books, that’s why i really love to read.

    my mm post: http://bookskeepmesane.wordpress.com/2013/07/15/535/

  6. I am not sure a book has changed me like that. Would be nice if one had.

    I did my own thing, too. I guess a few people did.

    http://storytreasury.wordpress.com/2013/07/15/expecting-a-first-book-to-begin-a-series/

  1. Pingback: Welcome to the Celebration! | Lady With Books

  2. Pingback: Friday Ramble 7/19/13 | Lady With Books

Leave a Reply

