Guest Post by Andrea King from Books and Bindings

I’m so pleased to introduce my next guest blogger. Andrea is a fellow Sherlock Holmes fan, so I was incredibly happy when she offered to write a guest post for my blog blogiversary celebration. Please give a big welcome to Andrea King from Books and Bindings.

borderswish

Top Ten Favorite Supporting Characters

This is a guest blog post written by Andrea King, an avid reader, book hoarder, and book blogger. You can find her book reviews, weekly memes, book promotions, challenges, and everything in between at Books and Bindings.

Admit it! I know I’m not the only one who have ignored, taken for granted, and overlooked a lot of supporting characters before just because I was too engrossed with the main characters. We tend to put so much focus on the main characters that we forget how important supporting characters are.

Without that trusty sidekick, that friend who encourages the main character to keep on fighting, or that too opinionated android that crack things up a bit when it gets too serious, stories would be too flat, too one-sided, too boring. So to celebrate and show my appreciation to all the awesome supporting characters who helped make the stories we’ve read balanced and three dimensional, I decided to come up with a list of my top ten all-time favorites.

10. Wes from the Touch series by Laurie Faria Stolarz

Wes was the only character I liked in this series. I liked his witty comebacks and his shoe collection! I felt like he had more personality than anyone else in the series.

wes

9. Jeremy Danvers from Bitten and Stolen by Kelley Armstrong

He was awesome! He was a perfect alpha wolf leader. He was decisive, tactical, determined, disciplined, controlled, matured, and intimidating at time. Every time I think about what werewolves would be like, Jeremy pops in my head.

8. Razor from ReAwakened by Ada Adams

Total hottie! I loved Razor’s character from the second installment of the Angel Creek series. He was a wild vampire. He could never filter his mouth and would say the very first thing that came to his mind. He was very likable, intriguing, and enjoyable.

mortal-instruments-city-of-bones-simon-main

7. Simon from the City of Bones by Cassandra Clarke

He was such a funny character! He kept the story light and interesting. He was very spunky and witty. If it weren’t for him, the book would have probably felt heavier and a lot more serious.

6. Violet from the Gods and Monsters series by Kelly Keaton

Adorable, fanged, goth fairy girl with a white alligator, Pascal, for a pet. How can you not instantly love and adore her? She captivated me from the moment she was introduced in the book.

sherlock_holmes_dr_watson

5. Dr. Watson from Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle

As much as I hate to admit it, being a Sherlock Holmes fanatic, it wouldn’t have been the same without Watson. He was the balancer – the person who kept Sherlock believable and in touch with his humanity (exaggerated I know). I don’t think I would have enjoyed reading all the stories without Watson.

4. Iko from Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Iko was cute, funny, adorable, girly, and very opinionated (for an android, that is). They say there was something wrong with her personality chip or whatever but I think she was just perfect. If I’d ever have an android, I’d want it to be like Iko.

3. Ron Weasley from the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling

Oh come on…you loved him, too! At times he might not look like it but I think he was really brave, witty, and smart (more like street smart maybe). I loved his sarcasm, hot-headedness, laziness, and most especially, his arachnophobia. His character was so believable that at times I forget he’s fictional.

dustfinger

2. Dustfinger from the Inkworld series by Cornelia Funke

He was a deeply troubled character and he had me guessing all the time as to what his intentions really were. Was he a self-centered coward or is that a defense mechanism? I thought he just had trust issues and a lot of insecurity. His character was very real to me and I felt for his sorrows and pain.

1. Hermione Granger from the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling

The clever perfectionist Hermione. She grew up so much from the first book to the last book. In my opinion, she matured the most. She let go of her insecurities and changed from being a stuck-up perfectionist to this awesome girl who punched Draco. I loved her (and her awesome bag with the undetectable extension charm) the most in the last book, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows.

borderswish

booksandbindings_nStop by Books and Bindings and say hello to Andrea.

Books and Bindings is a book blog that does reviews, weekly memes, book promotions, interviews, challenges, a little bit of writing, and everything and anything in between. Oh, and did I mention about our GIVEAWAYS?

Thank you for reading!

Facebook | Twitter | Bloglovin’ | Goodreads

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 33 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on July 16, 2013, in guest post and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Melissa's Eclectic Bookshelf

    2 nods to HP 🙂 Great list!

  1. Pingback: Welcome to the Celebration! | Lady With Books

  2. Pingback: Friday Ramble 7/19/13 | Lady With Books

Leave a Reply

