Guest Post by Ginny from The Literary Brigand

For my blogiversary I wanted to have guest book bloggers and focus on some of the smaller blogs out there. Those blogs that are really great but for someone reason haven’t been “found” yet. I was so happy when a couple of people volunteered to be my victims… I mean my guests! So, it’s my pleasure to introduce you to Ginny from The Literary Brigand. She was good enough to answer all 15 questions of the interview I gave her.

borderswish

1) First of all, tell us a little about yourself.

I am a wife and mother.  Just now, I stay home with our two young sons.  I’m a reader from a family who didn’t really read.  Some teenagers smoke cigarettes on the sly, I went to the library and skulked around bookstores trying to look cool.  My parents were utterly confused.  Sadly for me, trying to attract teenage boys with a ridiculously detailed knowledge of depressing 19th century romantic fiction, not successful. You live, you learn.

2) What inspired you to start blogging about books?

My blog did not start out as a book blog.  My husband has one of those jobs where we just figure we’re going to have to move about every five years.  I really started the blog to keep up with my friends in other parts of the country, and let them see what we were up too.  The book reviews were just something I enjoyed writing.  So I wrote them.  Gradually, the reviews took over the blog.  Not unlike books have just sort of taken over my house.

3) What have you learned since you started blogging? (Like things that surprised you about the process or just how bloody hard it can be sometimes etc.)

I was initially surprised by how much I enjoyed writing a blog.  Then I was surprised how hard it can be to come up with content every week.  In the end I think I’ve learned to write ahead and when I have the idea.  Then I just keep it on file.  It is so much easier to tweak an idea into shape when you’re running behind on a post than it is to start from scratch.

4) What attracts you to a book? (The blurb? The cover? Other reviews?)

If I’m looking for an author I’ve never read before I like a really good title.  Especially if it’s a title that stands out for some reason in its section.  That’s how I found Kathleen Ann Goonan.  A book titled “Queen City Jazz” in the Science Fiction section.  It was too much to resist.

I’m also a subject reader.  If it’s about vikings, China, Japan, certain wars, pirates, spies, or ancient Rome, I’ll at least give it a try.  I like my mayhem.

5) What is your favorite book and why?

It’s hard to pick a favorite.  “The Witch of Blackbird Pond” will always have a special place in my heart.  When I was in Fourth grade I had a really great teacher who handed us a book list and set us free in the library.  We had to complete, I think, ten oral book reports that year.  “The Witch of Blackbird Pond” was the first book I ever picked out and sat down to read all by myself.  Better still, it was a book that made me wonder if there were other books like it out there.

6) What is your favorite genre and why?

Science Fiction is probably my favorite genre.  I like the odd scenes and strange vistas that come with Science Fiction.  I like the inventiveness the genre encourages in its authors.  I also love its rag tag beginnings.  It’s such a staple of movies, and television as well as books, we forget that it used to be the stuff of pulp magazines.

7) Who is your favorite author and why?

I don’t have a favorite author.  It’s like trying to pick a favorite kind of chocolate.  I just can’t do it.  I’d be that person who won dinner with say Dana Stabenow, and spent the whole time talking to her about how much I love Jane Austen, and Victor Hugo, and Bernard Cornwell, and David Brin, and Katherine Neville, and Robert Heinlein, and  Tom Robbins, and James Hilton, and Nevil Shute and….  Until Dana was sure that I’d never read her books.  Then when the check came I’d realize what I had done, and lamely add “Oh, and I really love your books too.”   And it would be true.  I really do love her books.  I am just that kind of crazy.

8) Any advice for the beginner blogger you wish somebody had told you? 

It’s true, the more you practice the better you get.  Don’t give up just because the first few posts, or the first few dozen posts aren’t exactly what you wanted.

9) Any thoughts on ebooks versus paper books? 

I’m pretty much in favor of anything that makes a Neal Stephenson trilogy easier to carry around.  That said, I still prefer the tactile experience that goes with a paper book.

10) Tell us a little bit about your reading habits. Do you follow a schedule or are you a mood reader? 

I’ve usually got at least two books going at any given time.  I end up reading mostly at night after the kids are asleep, and when they are deeply involved in playing together.

11) How do you use and handle social media as a blogger? Do you use Twitter? Do you have a Facebook page? How helpful do you find these things?

I have a Twitter account that I post notifications on.  I don’t really use Twitter beyond that.  I use Facebook all the time, and post notifications there as well.  For now I still get most of my traffic from Facebook.  But those numbers are starting to shift.

12) If you were shipwrecked on a desert island, what 3 books would you want with you?

“How to Stay Alive in the Woods” by: Bradford Angier – Because I totally have no idea.

“Anathem” by: Neal Stephenson – Because I am still trying to get through that sucker.  It’s been about four months.  Surely, I could get through it on a desert island.

“The Moon is a Harsh Mistress” by: Robert Heinlein – Because I always take it when I travel.  I find it oddly soothing.  Sometimes old friends are the best friends.

13) Is there a particular movie or TV series that you preferred over the book version? Or the book version over the movie or TV series?

This is a great question.  There are several posts about this issue on The Literary Brigand.  Most of the time I prefer books to the movie and TV versions.  I will say, Jeremy Brett playing Sherlock Holmes, is probably my favorite book to film conversion ever.

14) Any other hobbies besides reading and blogging?

Drinking coffee and knitting, or writing.  I’m a member of a book club. They’re great.   Back when I had scads of time, I loved to travel, and go to the movies.  I’m looking forward to having scads of time again.  In about fourteen years.

15) Do you have a favorite memory associated with books? 

As I said earlier, I didn’t come from a family of readers, but my husband and I were determined to raise readers if we could. When my oldest was about three before he really caught the reading bug, I was so thrilled.  I remember the book that seemed to finally tip the scales. “Make Way for Ducklings” by: Robert McCloskey. We read that book to our son at least once a day at his request for months. I really used to love that book. Hopefully by the time the grandkids come along I’ll be ready to read it again.

This or That?

Paper or Ebooks?
Paper

Fantasy or Sci-fi?
Sci-Fi

Romance or Thriller?
Thriller

Comedy or Horror?
Comedy

Mountains or Beach?
Mountains

Rain or Snow?
Rain

Batman or Superman?
Batman

borderswish

ginnylogo1.1Stop by The Literary Brigand and say hello to Ginny!

The Literary Brigand is about reading.  What I like to read.  What other’s have recommended to me.  About what I check out from the library and don’t read.

Thank you for reading!

Facebook | Twitter | Bloglovin’ | Goodreads

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 33 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on July 17, 2013, in guest post and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

