Booking Throught Thursday 7/18/13

bookingthroughthursday1

Our question for this week is: Do your reading habits change in the summer? Do you take your books outside more? Do you curl up in the air conditioning? Do you read fluff instead of serious books? Are you too busy playing in the sun or gardening or whatever to read much at all?

I am not a summer person. When it gets hot, I go inside. Summer in Missouri means hot and humid and while I can probably stand some warmer temperatures, I can’t stand humidity. Count me out. I sweat and get sticky and burn if I so much as look at a sunbeam without wearing some SPF 30. Not fun. I might be found sitting out on my deck in April and return to sitting on my deck in October but the months between have me hiding inside with the AC on and a fan going full speed.

Lemonade_glassWhen I’m outside during the nicer months, I’m sitting on my teal colored deck chairs, glass of lemonade on the railing next to me and my reading sunglasses on. I have two pairs of sunglasses. One is for driving and they have this weird striation in the lens. I can’t wear them for anything except driving. Even walking with them on makes the ground look like it moving under my feet. It makes me nauseous and gives me a headache. My reading sunglasses are bright purple and black and I bought them on dirt cheap clearance. I wear them mostly so people will ask about them…

Coffee_cup_iconI probably go to my favorite coffee shop, the Crooked Tree Coffeehouse, once or twice a month to read. I like being around people and it makes me feel hip. {snort} In cooler weather, it’s a latte or endless cups of coffee from the bottomless cup coffee bar. When it gets warmer, it’s fruit smoothies and iced coffees. Then I have breakfast. On weeks I get paid, I get pancakes. On weeks where I’m broke, I get a blueberry muffin.

I don’t really change the type of book I read when the weather changes. I don’t suddenly crave a beachy book just because it got hot. I might seek out a Christmas or Halloween book during those holidays. I’m more liable to read something fluffy or flirty in nice weather but nice weather to me is during the spring or fall. I read more books with exotic locations when the weather is nice. Europe or Asia or some wild fantasy world. My birthday is in March and that’s about the time I start getting restless. When it gets really cold, I watch more movies. I don’t know why. I think I go into hibernation mode.

 

Thank you for reading!

Facebook | Twitter | Bloglovin’ | Goodreads

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 33 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on July 18, 2013, in book meme, Booking Through Thursday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I don’t change genre much either by season. I do like reading horror around October though. It just fits, but I do the same thing with movies. With that heat and humidity can’t blame you for mainly wanting to read inside.

  2. I don’t know about ‘hip’ but coffee shop reading is so civilised, especially if there is chocolate involved 🙂 Here’s mine Backchatting Books BTT

  3. thecraftyhome

    Your summer reading sounds delightful! Here’s my btt post http://thecraftyhome.net/2013/07/btt-summer-reading-redux/

  1. Pingback: Welcome to the Celebration! | Lady With Books

  2. Pingback: Friday Ramble 7/19/13 | Lady With Books

Leave a Reply

