Friday Ramble 7/19/13

fridayramblelogo

Welcome to the Friday Ramble, where I share what has been going on in my life and on the blog the past week.

girlboarder

Bookish Blog News

On Thursday July 18th, Lady with Books turned 2 years old. To celebrate, I am having a week long blog party full of book reviews, games, giveaways, and guest posts. Below is the schedule as it stands now. I will come back and update links as I can. You have until the end of the day Saturday July 20th to sign up for the giveaways, so get cracking. Play the games to gain extra entries into the giveaways.

Sunday July 14th

blackdot Welcome Post

blackdot Mystery Box Giveaway

blackdot Book Title Game

blackdot Book Review of The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

blackdot Gaiman Prize Pack Giveaway

Monday July 15th

blackdot Musing Mondays

blackdot Guest Post by Farzy from Books Keep Me Sane

blackdot Book Review of The Madman’s Daughter by Megan Shepherd

blackdot My Bookish Bad Habits (And Other Confessions)

Tuesday July 16th

blackdot Teaser Tuesdays

blackdot Amazon Giftcard Giveaway

blackdot Book Review of Handbook for Dragon Slayers by Merrie Haskell

blackdot Guest Post by Andrea from Books and Bindings

blackdot Famous First Lines Game

Wednesday July 17th

blackdot Waiting On Wednesday

blackdot Wishlist Wednesday

blackdot Book Review of Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson

blackdot Guest Post by Ginny from The Literary Brigand

blackdot Book Cover Game

Thursday July 18th

blackdot Booking Through Thursday

blackdot Book Review of The Wells Bequest by Polly Shulman

blackdot Guest Post with Daniel Wetta, author of The Z Redemption

blackdot How to Write a (Critical) Review – As Compiled By A Book Blogger

Friday July 19th

blackdot Friday Ramble (you’re reading it)

blackdot Feature & Follow

blackdot Friday Finds

blackdot Self Book Blogger Interview

blackdot Book Review of Truly, Madly, Deadly by Hannah Jayne

Saturday 20th

I had a small family upset late Friday night. The book review and bookstore feature will be posted as soon as I have time. Sorry.

blackdot Book Review of 45 Pounds by K.A. Barson

blackdot Bookstore Feature: Dunaway Books

There will be a grand total of 30 28 posts before this celebration is over with. I may just fall down dead at the end.

Personal News

blackdot Needless to say, I am exhausted.

blackdot I just spent a stupid amount of money on the giveaways for the celebration. I am now very, very broke.

blackdot We had perfect weather for July 4th and I spent my evening at a BBQ with friends. One of who is heavily pregnant with her second child and getting induced this morning. By now, she should have popped out a healthy baby boy. I need to go buy a teddy bear before going over to see him this weekend.

What am I reading?

Finished: 45 Pounds by K.A. Barson
Reading Now: The Girl Who Chased the Moon by Sarah Addison Allen
What Next: The Lavender Garden by Riley Lucinda

Search Terms

blackdot skulduggery pleasant book review – Still? That review was months ago. Like, last year.

blackdot coffee zombie – [snort] I can’t believe I still get hits from that. It’s one tiny picture.

blackdot miller changed achilles age – A little? I think he was a grown man in the legend and either an older teen or young 20 something in the book.

blackdot song of achilles gay – That shouldn’t be news to you.

blackdot are+adam+and+ronan+from+the+raven+boys+gay – This is the first I’ve heard of any such thing. But now that you mention it, I can kind of see Adam being gay. He’s be drawn to Gansey, because when isn’t he, but I could see being homosexual part of the problem he has with his abusive father. I didn’t get the vibe from Ronan.

blackdot maggie+stiefvater+on+lgbt – Apparently I need to look into this.

blackdot reading level for alice in zombieland – Eh, a mature kid could handle it. It’s not graphic.

blackdot cliches+in+paranormal+romance – Too numerous to count.

blackdot alice in wonderland howard – I think you mean Splintered by A.G. Howard.

blackdot andrew’s transformation experiences in enchanted glass by diana wynne jones – Do your own book report, kid.

I’m also getting a lot more hits for gay erotica. Apparently I need to do more reviews of that genre.

Books Added This Week

On Loan From the Library

The Winter Witch by Paula Brackston

The Hero’s Guide to Storming the Castle by Christopher Healy

Poison by Bridget Zinn

Dragon’s Keep by Janet Lee Carey

Bought

Telling would be cheating because all the books I just bought are  for the Mystery Box Giveaway and Gaiman Pack Giveaway. I don’t want to spoil the surprise!

girlboarder

Thank you for reading!

Facebook | Twitter | Bloglovin’ | Goodreads

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 34 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on July 19, 2013, in Friday Ramble and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

