Musing Mondays 7/22/13

musingmondayscatlogoMusing Mondays asks you to muse about one of the following each week… Hosted by Should Be Reading.

• Describe one of your reading habits.
• Tell us what book(s) you recently bought for yourself or someone else, and why you chose that/those book(s).
• What book are you currently desperate to get your hands on? Tell us about it!
• Tell us what you’re reading right now — what you think of it, so far; why you chose it; what you are (or, aren’t) enjoying it.
• Do you have a bookish rant? Something about books or reading (or the industry) that gets your ire up? Share it with us!
• Instead of the above questions, maybe you just want to ramble on about something else pertaining to books — let’s hear it, then!

girlboarder

I went on a reading binge last week. I read three books and I’m almost done with a forth. Normally, I manage about a book a week. So, reading almost four is a lot for me. My record is six books in a week and that was because I had taken a week off from work and was reading nonstop. What are the most books you’ve read in a week? Do you often have times where you can’t read?

I have a lot of extra time to read at work. Probably more than people normally do. I get an hour for lunch and then I spend another two hours during the day answering phones for the regular receptionist, during which I can get some reading done between calls. So, that’s almost three hours I get to spend reading. Provided I use the time I have available to read, and not surf the internet or something else, I can finish a book in a day and a half. Two days if it’s a large book. Unfortunately, I end up surfing the internet a lot. Books are entertaining but the internet is also entertaining and I’m weak. Then there is TV and movies and other things to hold my attention and get done during the day. Somehow, reading keep getting bumped down the list of things to do. I shudder to think how little time I would have if I had any little monsters… I mean kids. I’d probably end up locking them in the closet just to get some quiet time.

Honestly, if I could muster enough willpower to get off the computer, I’d probably read a stupid amount of books. As is, Tumblr and Archive of our Own eats my life. I probably qualify for an internet disorder or something.

Thank you for reading!

Facebook | Twitter | Bloglovin’ | Goodreads

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 34 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on July 22, 2013, in book meme, Musing Mondays and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Hi Patricia,

    I’m amazed at how many books you manage to read. I usually only manage to read one book a week. My biggest record was to read an entire book in a single day – the book was The Gospel According to Jesus Christ by José Saramago.

    Here is my muse, if you’d like to check it out:
    Musing Mondays – Ten reasons why book people are also cat people
    http://bookishfindings.blogspot.com/

  2. I get a LOT of time to read at work, about half the time when I work the night shift…hours. What is my record? I think you beat me with six.

  3. In high school, I had a lot of time to read in classes and for some short series, like the Animorphs or Left Behind, I’d often go through a book a day. Sometimes even more! But lately I typically get through two books a week and might get to three if I’m reading something YA or have a day off.

  4. I miss the days when I could read non stop, unfortunately I only have time in the evenings and on weekends. I get in about a book a week (sometimes two if I’m lucky). Sigh!

  5. I’m retired so I can read a book a day. I don’t always but it is nice that I can read as much as I do now. Here is mine: MM My disorder is book hoarding.

  6. The computer and TV definitely suck up a lot of time that I sometimes I later wish I’d spent reading. Sometimes I’ll be reading and I’ll get up to check on something, like my email or to look up a recipe, and then an hour will have gone by without me noticing.

  7. I think my record is 5 or 6 books a week.. when I’m veeryy busy I can only finish a book in a week but that’s very rare 😀
    i have a musing too.. check it out http://wp.me/p3v5T1-90

  8. Chandra Lawrie

    There are a ridiculous amount of books I want to get my hands on so I won’t go there…I recently picked up White Thaw: The Helheim Conspiracy by Paul Mark Tag, paulmarktag.com for its info! I picked it up as I am a lover of the conspiracy driven fiction. It turned out to be a great read, I really enjoyed it and recommend it!

Leave a Reply

