Booking Through Thursday 7/25/13

bookingthroughthursday1

Our question for this week is: My best friend is moving across country, heading back to the East Coast for the first time after years of living in California, and one of the things she’s lamented was the whole packing-the-books thing. Having moved a few years ago myself (whittling down my 3000-volume library to 2000-volumes and still ending up with something like 50 boxes of books), I sympathize.

So … the question is–what kind of moving experiences have you had with your books? (Or, just in general if you’ve got good Moving Day stories–and who doesn’t?) Did having to pack and move your books cause any changes in your book-collecting habits? Make you wish you had everything on an e-reader? Feel free to discuss!

girlboarderpacking_and_moving

This is half the reason why I have only a small collection of books. That and I really have no space to put them. I moved out of my parents’ house in August 2011. For months I stole boxes from work and slowly packed up everything I was taking. It wasn’t the books that were the problem but all my craft supplies. They occupied a whole room downstairs and I was going to have to somehow contain all of that in a one bedroom apartment. (Good thing my new place had a fairly large closet.) I probably had about 70 books to deal with. A good amount of those were paperback but there was also my set of leather bound children’s books and my hardback set of Discworld series books. Those suckers were heavy.

But I’m out of shape, my whole family is out of shape, and I can count my number of real life friends on less than one hand, so I hired a moving company to haul my 30 or so boxes and furniture over to my new apartment. I pointed out what I wanted moved to the guys that showed up and in a little over an hour all my stuff was in my new home. Easy-pezy. I moved a couple of small boxes with delicate stuff myself but most of it was moved by the movers. It cost me $250 and I consider it money well spent.

Of course, ever since then I’ve returned to the house to retrieve shit I forgot or thought I didn’t want. I fetched some of the old antique books from the house as well as unearthed some other books I had forgotten about in the basement. Now I probably have just over 100 books in my apartment. I hung those L shaped wall shelves from Barnes & Noble to hold some books and the bottom shelf of both my shelves are crammed every which way with the less displayable books in my collection. When I move again, ugh, I’ll probably go the same route.

Thank you for reading!

Facebook | Twitter | Bloglovin’ | Goodreads

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 34 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on July 25, 2013, in book meme, Booking Through Thursday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

