Booking Through Thursday 8/15/13

bookingthroughthursday1

Our question for this week is: I’ve asked before how you feel about lending your books. I’ve asked how you feel about libraries. But—how do you feel about borrowing books from friends? Is this something you like to do? Does it make you feel uncomfortable or rushed while reading? Does it affect how you feel about the book you’re reading, pressured into liking it?

Oh, I hate borrowing books from friends or family members. I always feel as if I’m stealing their first born or something ridiculous like that. I treat the books I do end up borrowing like they are made out of spider silk and have an absolute meltdown if anything happens to them. I moved with one of my friend’s books and then couldn’t find it afterward. When she asked me how the book was going I lied and ran out to the bookstore to buy a new copy. I ended up finding the original at my parents’ house a couple of months later. I spilt soda on another book I was borrowing and started absolutely sobbing over it. I was a horrible friend! An enemy to books everywhere! I should be locked up in a cage! Borrowing books is very stressful for me.

I do feel pressured to like the book and to finish it quickly. I once borrowed a copy of Inkheart by Cornelia Funke from a friend and then hit one of my slumps where I wasn’t interested in reading anything. Well, that book is over 500 pages long and I felt so horrible when I finally finished it like half a year later. I feel just as bad if I don’t like it. My friend/family member liked this book enough to purchase their own copy and then were nice enough to let me borrow it and I’m such a dunderhead that I don’t even like the book! I feel like an ungrateful worm. (Yes, of course I have problems with self-esteem and anxiety. Do you need to ask at this point?)

Luckily, I only have a few friends that read and like one family member. My Mom reads trashy romances that bore me to tears and my Dad and brother aren’t big readers. One of my reader friends has vastly different tastes than me. We’ve given up trying to enjoy the same books. My other reader friend has the same tastes as me but like zero time to read. So, I’m pretty much a lonely island of reading.

Thank you for reading!

Facebook | Twitter | Bloglovin’ | Goodreads

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 33 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on August 15, 2013, in book meme, Booking Through Thursday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I do worry more about whether or not I’ll spill something on a borrowed book (even a library book); here’s MY BTT POST

  2. I feel the exact same way! I also don’t like borrowing books because I get absurdly attached to them and want to keep them.

  3. I don’t really borrow books much, I prefer buying. I’ve only borrowed one book from a friend, and I didn’t need to take care of it much because it was an old beat up copy. I borrow my brothers’ books but I don’t think they mind that much about it. I, however, am afraid to lend out books because I feel like others wouldn’t take care of them like I do.

Leave a Reply

