My Quest to Become Less Slug Like – Week Two

Today marks the beginning of the second week of me being 31 years old. It is also the beginning of the second week of my lifestyle change and my resolution to not be a slug. I had a productive weekend, even with losing an hour on Sunday to Daylight Saving Time. I dusted and rearranged my decorations and knick-knacks. A couple times a year I give my shelves a new look by rearranging my bits and bobs and switching some things out with others from storage. Ta-da! The whole apartment has a new look. I then cleaned the shower, did the dishes, and some laundry. I also went through my Pinterest boards to see what new goodies had popped up. (Which reminds me that I still need to link my Pinterest account to my blog.) Then it was the weekly shopping and errands so I have food. Yeah, can’t put off the grocery shopping.

During my quest to be less slug like, I’ve come up with a couple of ways to help myself along. Item Number One was making sure I was healthy by going to the doctor. Now, we’ll talk about one of my favorite things in the world; lists.

Item Number Two: Making To Do Lists

The mighty to do list; I know we all have one. Part of making a list is having a physical representation of what you have to get done and part of this is holding yourself accountable for not finishing tasks. Making a list of what needs to get done keeps you on track and makes sure you don’t forget anything. I usually have weekend to do lists and then longer term to do lists for the month. For example: this past weekend’s to do list included cleaning the shower. It felt good to put that little checkmark next to that item. My month long to do list includes doing my taxes, getting the oil changed in my car, and vacuuming my mattress.

todolists

If a task seems too big and tempts you to procrastinate, then break it down into smaller tasks. Start by calling to make appointments for your taxes and car service and making the baking powder sprinkle for the mattress. Large tasks broken into smaller tasks don’t seem as overwhelming and are more easily completed.

Item Number Three: Exercise

It’s true what they say: an object at rest will stay at rest. While an object in motion will stay in motion. In short; get off your butt. When I get regular exercise, I feel more energetic and less likely to camp out on the couch with a bag of chips. Even taking a walk during my lunch hour or after dinner is enough to get my blood pumping and I get more done. Do it enough and it becomes a habit. Repeat a habit enough and it becomes routine. Suddenly, you look forward to that walk and feel better for the regular exercise. Then you start to lose weight and your doctor and family shuts up about you losing weight and all is sunshine and rainbow. Well, maybe not the last part but you get the idea. Getting even light exercise on a regular basis will be beneficial. (Yes, cleaning counts as exercise. It’s like two birds with one stone.)

At lunch today I’m running out to the bank to cash a check and mark off another item from my to do list. Plus winter is finally loosening its death grip in my area and it’s going to be in the 70’s for the next two days. I see a walk outside in my future. Happy Monday, everybody!

Thank you for reading!

Facebook | Twitter | Bloglovin’ | Goodreads

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 33 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on March 10, 2014, in about the blogger and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Happy new age to you, Patricia! I plug away at what I intend to do without a list. Free spirits like me do better away from strict structure but it was a pleasure to sit down to some of your musings for the first time in a while. I appreciate that you’ve been my subscriber and I yours, for a long time. My birthday’s on the 18th! I am in need of light-heartedness and a very good time.

    I don’t think folks caught the news: one of our young cats died for no reason (major natural cause). I’m traumatized by it and was astounded not to be inundated with condolences (at my blog, where I’ll see and cherish them). Hearing people understand “cat” = “son&daughter” to me, is very healing. Despite only being 4 years old, I want people to know this wonderful boy. Along with entertainment, a community is for lifting people up, so I reach out to mine. I’m much better but had to try again because a cricket response hasn’t sat well with me. It might help to explain I WANT to hear from people. My post is here. Gratefully, Carolyn. http://cmriedel.wordpress.com/2014/09/02/loveyandthreesiblings/

Leave a Reply

