Notes on Crock Pot Bacon Cheeseburger Dip

(slaps forehead)

I can’t believe I forgot to take pictures when I tried this. Two weeks ago, my work place had an appetizer contest that I was suckered into participating in. So, I needed something that could be made the night before and then could be kept warm until we did the tasting at 11am. I wanted to make something warm because cold dishes gag me and I honestly think pasta and potato salads are awful. I needed something that I could make in the crock pot.

I started hunting through Pinterest for crock pot appetizers and narrowed my choices between candy bacon and bacon cheeseburger dip. Because, honestly, you can never go wrong with bacon. I flipped a coin and ended up with the dip. I read through a few recipes and choose the simplest. There were a couple that added different types of cheese and chilies and I just didn’t want to deal with that.

cheeseburgerdip

Bacon Cheeseburger Crock Pot Dip @ RECIPESTHATCROCK.COM

I doubled my chosen recipe (kind of) and here are my observations. I cooked the hamburger the night before. I bought a big package of hamburger and I think I probably used close to 3 pounds. This was a little much but I was eyeballing the amount and hedging my bets on how much an office full of guys would eat. I then let the hamburger cool before adding everything to my big crock pot. I used two packages of cream cheese, one 2 cup package of mild cheddar cheese, and one 2 cup package of sharp cheddar cheese, one can of RO*TEL diced tomatoes and green chilies, and two packages of bacon pieces. I am not fond of heat and thus only used one can of diced tomatoes and green chilies. I layered the cheeses and RO*TEL in-between layers of hamburger and set the whole thing in the refrigerator.

crockpot1

At work the next morning, I plugged in my crock pot at 8am and set it to low as the recipe suggested. By 9am, the crock pot had been going for about an hour and I was worried the cheeses wouldn’t melt in time for the 11am tasting. I turned it up to high and it melted just fine. I stirred it a couple of time along the way to make sure everything was mixed and melting evenly. I added another bag of bacon pieces to the top at the end. The end product was a little chunky. I probably should have added more cream cheese and cheddar cheese to make it creamier. I had some Scoops Tostitos chips and a little bottle of Louisiana hot sauce in case some people wanted some extra heat.

They ate the whole thing, scraping the bottom of the pot. I won second place, behind the crab dip. If I was to make this again, I’d defiantly add more cheese and probably more bacon. You can never have enough bacon. Ugh, I can’t believe I forgot to take pictures! (head/desk)

Basic Recipe:

  • 1 pound hamburger
  • 1 block 8oz cream cheese
  • 2 cups shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1 10oz can diced tomatoes and green chilies
  • 1 6oz package bacon pieces

– cook hamburger until no longer pink, drain grease

– add all ingredients to crock pot and cook on low 2 to 3 hours, stirring occasionally

– garnish with more bacon pieces when done and serve warm with your preferred dippers

Notes:

  1. Honestly, add as much bacon as you want. You can never go wrong with more bacon.
  2. If preparing the next day, turn crock pot onto high but keep an eye on it so it doesn’t burn.
  3. If looking for a creamier dip, increase cheeses by half.
  4. I got several compliments on bringing the hot sauce. People can make their dip as hot as they want.
  5. BACON!

Thank you for reading!

Facebook | Twitter | Bloglovin’ | Goodreads

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 33 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on April 6, 2015, in food and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

