The Art of Getting in over your Head.

getinginoveroyrhead

Moving out of my parents’ house was a big deal for me. It was easy to save money while living under their roof because everything was taken care of for me from food and clothing to normal everyday stuff. You are really not all that aware of how much acne face wash costs when you’re not the one paying for it. I had savings, and when I moved out of the house, those savings were pretty nice. But slowly over the years of living on my own, those savings have been whittled down. Poor impulse control and some big money events helped with that but I was doing okay. Then there was a series of events that just drained me financially the last half a year. This is how people get in over their heads.

screenbeanslump

Before I took my vacation back in September 2014 to Colorado, there were a couple of things I wanted to take care of before I left. I wanted new glasses for one thing. I wanted to be able to see the mountains when I went there. Of course, I needed sunglasses too. Getting glasses has always been expensive but it was a cost I accepted because I really have no choice. Without glasses, I can’t see clearly past a foot in front of my face. So, there went about $800. This is actually about $200 more than I usually spend because I went to a new place closer to work. I have to tell you, that was the first and last time I’m going there.

Then I wanted to take care of my TMJ. Now, TMJ is jaw problems. Temporomandibular joint dysfunction. Basically, my jaw doesn’t sit right in my head. My bite is off and I grind my teeth. Migraines are a common symptom of TMJ. It is also something that a regular orthodontist can’t treat. They have to specialize in it. My regular dentist knew nothing about it besides the acronym. So, I went off to find an orthodontist that treated it and promptly discovering insurance won’t pay a dime of the treatment. I had to move money from my savings to my checking account to pay for it. How much you ask? $4,000. Yeah. Thousands.

After that, came the actual vacation. Did I mention I have poor impulse control? I can’t resist something if I see it. I’m like a magpie. I must have the sparkly. So, I spent more than I meant to on my vacation on top of the money I forked over for hotels. My travel companion took care of the plane tickets by using her family’s travel miles. Lucky girl. So, bye bye to that money.

rant smallThat was ok. It was a lot of money and my credit card was fat and bloated but I was going to pay it off. For about a month I was good and stuck to a budget and managed to put a few hundred dollars toward the credit card. Then I broke my elbow. This had the duel effect of giving me medical bills while cutting my income while I was on short term disability and healing. I went back to work just after Christmas. But the ER bill and surgery bill were nothing compared to the physical therapy bills that hit me after the New Years.

The ER and surgery bills were probably $500. Ouch but not horrible. Two months of physical therapy twice a week and then one month of physical therapy once a week? Over $1,000. Then in the middle of February I took my car in because the check engine light was on and it was giving me error messages on my radio about the air bag and tire monitor. It needed a new battery. At the same time I had them do the oil change and agreed to some transmission cleaning or some such shit. Stupid me. Of course they then found I needed new front brakes. All told? $550.

So here I sit, the middle of April, completely broke. I loaned a friend $100 a couple weeks ago because she has the worst fucking luck and I’m a soft touch. I shouldn’t have done that because I discovered last week that I had completely drained my checking account after paying rent and the beginning of the month bills by -26¢. I moved a couple hundred from my savings account to my checking account. In the four years since I moved out of my parents’ house, I’ve lost half of my savings. I got paid on Friday but I’m terrified to spend any of it in case something else fucking happens. I only have a couple of hundred dollars left on my credit card before it maxes out. I just did my taxes and I’m getting back $400 but all of that is going toward medical bills.

monopoly_money

People don’t get in over their heads in big explosions. They get in over their heads in small steps, in mini disasters that slowly chip away at your safety net. I’m sure it’s even worse if you are a person who doesn’t actually have a safety net. I know a couple of people like that. I’m thinking of getting rid of my cable. TV is my biggest expense, which it just ridiculous. I promised myself I would stop spending money on things I didn’t 100% need and would shop for food only at ALDI. (ALDI = a discount grocery store in America.) In May, my car insurance renews. I have no idea where that money is coming from. I’m only making the minimum payment on my credit card.

Now I need to buckle down and plug up my money leaks.

  • Get rid of subscriptions you don’t really use. This includes an anime streaming subscription I only use infrequently and a subscription to Amazon Kindle. I already dropped my Amazon Prime membership.
  • Cut back on the food spending. Only shop at ALDI. Their food is fine and I don’t absolutely need anything else.
  • Meal planning. Figure out what I’m going to make for meals that week and buy only those ingredients. Do not waste food.
  • No fast food. No eating out.
  • No browsing antique shops or consignment stores. This is where the whole impulse control comes in. If I’m there, I’m going to see something I want and I’m not going to be able to stop myself from spending money. So, staying away from those places all together is the only option.
  • Call AT&T and either get my cable bill down or cancel it completely. I used to only have Netflix and Hulu through my Roku box and paid maybe $40 a month for both. I can do it again. (Even if I will miss the DVR.)

Anybody else have suggestions on how to save money and pay off bills?

Thank you for reading!

Facebook | Twitter | Bloglovin’ | Goodreads

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 34 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on April 13, 2015, in about the blogger and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I’m sorry for your string of bad luck! Your plan for future saving sounds good, though. I’ve had to get rid of my cable before and I’ll probably have to get rid of but again. My car insurance lets me split up payments if I want to so its not quite such a big chunk at one time. Will yours do that?

    • I could pay it month by month instead of all at once but that would end up costing me more since you get a discount for ‘paid in full’. So if I strung the payments out over 6 months I would actually be spending about $50 more than paying it in one lump sum. I think I’ll get by with just making a smaller payment than I normally would to the credit card so the car insurance isn’t such a big ouch.

  2. cable is a big expense. antennae will give all the local channels and netflix will give you everything else. youtube is good, too.

    • What really cheeses me off is that I’m paying for a bunch of channels I never watch. 90% of cable is filler junk and I’m watching about 15 channels out of the 300 I pay for. But at the same time I can’t get things from the Sci-fi, Travel Channel, HGTV, or Disney Family from Netflix or Hulu. It’s annoying. And I really like my history specials and Ghost Hunters!

Leave a Reply

