Friday Ramble Nov. 13

fridayramblelogo

Happy Friday, everybody. Welcome to the Friday Ramble, where I recap the week and include some of my favorite posts and inspiration from other bloggers.

girlboarder

First of all, Happy Friday the 13th!!

bella67 | pixabay

I’m trying to figure out what I’m going to make for Thanksgiving (that I can actually eat since I’ve gone gluten free). I miss rolls. Oh god, how I miss rolls. (Good, warm, soft rolls. Not the gluten free rolls that I’ve been putting up with, which could be used for baseballs.) Luckily I was never fond of pie or cookies but I freaking miss good bread. Of course, the turkey and mashed potatoes and veggies will all be fine to eat but I know those rolls will just be taunting the hell out of me.

I think the tires on the right side of my car are slowly leaking air from when I skid out on the wet roads Halloween night. Even though I took the car to the shop to be checked over the following Monday and was told the car was fine. Of course, finding time to stop by a gas station to put air in them is hard to do since it’s dark by the time I get off work this time of year. My worry intensifies as it gets colder. (I’m a very anxious person and my brain decided long ago that my car is a good object to fixate on. I wish it wouldn’t. It’s a very expensive object to fixate on.)

Everyone in my office is coughing and sneezing and oh my god GET AWAY FROM ME! I do not have any vacation time to take to get sick. If I get the flu or a cold bad enough to stay home, I just lose those hours. That money is gone. I can’t afford to get sick. I just paid off my credit card from last year’s shit (glasses and teeth and a vacation and breaking my arm). I need that money. Everybody keep your germs to yourself!

Next week’s menu will include this recipe for crock pot sausage, green beans, and potatoes from Recipes that Crock. I might replace some of the liquid with chicken broth for more flavor. I’ll let you all know how it turns out.

Yes, hello, pain in my neck and shoulders. I missed you too. Not.

linkylove

The Design Sponge peeps posted Social Media Do’s and (Please) Don’ts. I’m guilty of some of those Don’ts. I’m horrible at keeping up with Twitter. There is just SO MUCH STUFF! I get overwhelmed very easily.

You have to check out On the Smugglers’ Radar over at The Book Smugglers. Ana and Thea do a weekly post about what books have taken their fancy lately and been added to their TBR piles. It never fails that I find at least one book I’m interested in too; which to both good and bad. I have enough TBR books as it is! (Added The May Queen Murders by Sarah Jude to my shelf. Dang it…)

Creamy Green Bean Casserole from Scratch over at Sally’s Baking Addiction. Even the crispy fried onions, people! I can’t deal. I just can’t. (whines with want)

Excuse me while I overly identify with some bloggers and have to go hide in the bathroom at work for 20 minutes to think. Wonder Forest posts Secret Anxiety Fighter: 6 Things You Didn’t Know. Also a little older post: The Little Mentally Ill Me.

Elsie at A Beautiful Mess walks us through a cranberry wreath just in time for Thanksgiving, as well as a cranberry related contest. (A couple years ago I made a cranberry wreath much like the one shown and made the huge mistake of hanging it outside on my door. A couple of a days later I came home from work to find the apartment breezeway filled with birds, all of them going to town on my cranberry wreath. Oh my god. The breezeway and my door had to be scrubbed down with soap and my door repainted because the birds had pooped everywhere. I was mortified. I took cookies to the leasing office to apologize to the maintenance guys and they told me it wasn’t the first time that had happened. I about died. So, if you make a food wreath, I seriously suggest sealing it with some sort of clear spray. Learn from my mistakes, people.)

Small world in blog-land. Foodiecrush contributor Hayley Putnam interviewed Kristin from Iowa Girl Eats about going gluten-free the last two years and her new ebook Gluten-Free for Beginners: 30 Day Meal Plan and Guide for Gluten-Free Success. I follow both blogs. Foodiecrush also shares Kristin’s recipe for gluten-free Beef with Broccoli. (I went gluten free a couple months ago in hopes it would help my PCOS. It hasn’t been very fun but I’ve been seeing signs of improvement.)

This sarcastic response to the Starbucks red holiday cup ridiculousness. 20 Things I Find Offensive About This Red Cup from The Daily Tay, who I found a couple of days ago and adore her attitude. (The cup is red and green, people! Those are Christmas colors! And the Starbucks cups have never been religious. If you are letting a cup define your holiday, then you are the one with the problem.)

girlboarder

The Books

Finished: The Peach Keeper by Sarah Addison Allen & Beastkeeper by Cat Hellion

Started: The Poe Estate by Polly Shulman

Waiting: Lost Lake by Sarah Addison Allen

Book Review: The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black

Subscription Box Review : Owl Crate October 2015

NaNo-2015-Participant-Badge-Large-Square

I fell off the writing wagon. I was doing really well until the beginning of this week. Then I slowly wrote less and less everyday and now I haven’t written anything for the past two days. I’m like 6,000 words behind where I should be. As usual, I have lots of ideas but no motivation. Why, brain? Why must you be like this? As I sit right now, I have 15,299 words. By the end of today, I should have about 22,000. Yikes.

My cat, Fiona, finally managed to tear a slat on my mini blinds. Well, not really mine. They were there when I moved into the apartment four years ago. But the point is that she is a very naughty kitty and will be getting coal for Christmas.

I’m thinking about joining a read-a-thon for Thanksgiving or Christmas and then reading just the books on my TBR pile that are under 300 pages. The tiny books I can finish in just two or three days despite being busy or hit with the sudden desire to stare at the TV for an evening. That would knock out a good 10 books or more off my TBR pile.

I really, really want to start using Instagram but I don’t have a smartphone. I have a dumbphone that is slowly dying on me. I could carry my point-and-shoot Canon camera around with me everywhere I go but I don’t have the patience for that. (whine) First world problems….

A co-worker told me on Wednesday that she envied me because I was always so calm. I thanked her and then hightailed it to the bathroom so I could laugh like the crazy person I really am. It’s nice to know I’m fooling the world, even if I’m not fooling myself.

photo copyright Patricia Hull
The touristy Main Street in my town, by the Missouri River. It’s a cute area but all the little shops are over priced and bland gift shops. There are a couple good stores I visit but I’m basically only down there to wander along the river and for festivals and stuff.

Thank you for reading!

Facebook | Twitter | Bloglovin’ | Goodreads

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 34 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on November 13, 2015, in Friday Ramble and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

