Friday Ramble Nov. 20

fridayramblelogo

Happy Friday, everybody. Welcome to the Friday Ramble, where I recap the week and include some of my favorite posts and inspiration from other bloggers.

girlboarderOh my god. I never thought organizing a Thanksgiving potluck at work would be so much trouble. We have a potluck at work every year the week before Thanksgiving. This year I am part of the activities committee and, oh my god, what a bunch of whiners. Look; eat or don’t eat, I don’t care, but stop bitching at us. Complaining to the committee that there is never enough food and too many desserts is pointless. It’s a potluck. The food is coming from you guys. If you want more food and less desserts, then that’s what you need to bring. We supply the hams and rolls and other bits. The other food is up to you people. That’s what a potluck is!

Plus the head guy is being a butt. We wanted to get a turkey breast to go along with the hams because we have people with diet restrictions and one person who is Jewish, for fuck’s sake. We were shot down. “If we carter to one person, we’ll have to carter to everybody. They should be grateful for what they are getting.” If they can’t eat it at all, THEN THEY ARE GETTING NOTHING! What a shortsighted jerk…

On a side note; my little family is doing Thanksgiving at my brother’s house and I’m responsible for the mashed potatoes and broccoli and cheese. It’s just me, my Dad, and my brother and his girlfriend/wife. That’s all that’s left of my family. Depressing. We were never a big family in the first place but it’s still sobering.

I like to look at decorating websites. They interest me and I like seeing other people’s homes. But there is this ‘Scandinavian’ look that has been really popular for the last couple of years and I’m sick of it. The homes are white, with some gray and brown thrown in there so you don’t walk into the furniture. It’s boring! I need color in my life or else my mood drops into the pits. All the blogs are touting it as ‘clean’ and ‘functional’, and ‘minimalist’. All I see is someone who couldn’t be bothered to put in the effort to decorate their home.

I started using Eucerin Redness Relief Face Lotion and it gave me an itchy, burning rash on my neck. Awesome.

linkylove

That wretched Starbucks’s red cup controversy, explained from the start.

Urban Epics is holding a massive 10 book giveaway along with $200 Amazon gift card and a vintage Remington typewriter. Click HERE to enter!

18 Unbelievably Rude Texts From Your Anxiety. Yes, that is my life. Because I enjoy staring up at the ceiling every night for two hours trying to fall sleep while my brain races in little panicked circles. It’s real fun. Not.

Stop scaring your cats with cucumbers! What the hell, people?

Longleat’s Festival of Light in the UK. Because it is now November, so, CHRISTMAS ALL THE THINGS!

Since I have no room for a normal Christmas tree, I’m looking into Alternative Christmas tree options. More options. More, more options. And even more options. (I kind of like the idea of putting green paper up on the wall in a Christmas tree shape and making paper ornaments.)

Living in a small apartment, with a cat, it can get quite stuffy. So, here are 3 Stove Simmers to Make your Home Smell like the Holidays.

Iowa Girl Eats has Gluten Free Party Potatoes! Also known as funeral potatoes, these suckers are cheesy and topped with a crunchy layer of crushed corn flakes. (Say that 3 times fast.) They are the best thing in the universe.

The Jim Henson Company is doing a new movie! Turkey Hollow airs on Lifetime this Saturday November 21 at 7pm central. As a long time lover of the puppet master and the Labyrinth and the Dark Crystal, I will be watching this and recording it.

jim-henson-turkeyhollow

Everything from Helene in Between. Everything.

Kati Heifner’s gluten free blog that I adore.

Bake Happy has icing examples, for all your holiday cupcake needs.

The Books

Finished: The Poe Estate by Polly Shulman & The Sleeper and the Spindle by Neil Gaiman

Started: Lost Lake by Sarah Addison Allen

Waiting: (shrug)

Added to TBR list:

Daughters of Ruin by K.D. Castner

The Penguin Lessons: A True Story by Tom Michell

The Secrets of Drearcliff Grange School by Kim Newman

I’ve decided for the month of December to read my under 300 pages TBR pile. These are the book I’ve added to the to be read pile that are under 300 pages.  (Alright, maybe a little over 300 pages. Just a couple pages. But definitely under 310 pages!) As it stands, that is 43 books. It takes me, on average, 2 days to read a under 300 page book. So, I expect to finish at least 15 books but will aim for more. I’m hoping to take out a good chunk of my TBR pile. Think of it as an early New Years’ resolution. It’s going to be cold, I might as well read.

What are some under 300 page books that I should read?

under300pagesreadingchallenge

Also, am I the only one who finds blogs that have multiple authors confusing? Who am I reading? Who’s story is this? It doesn’t help that they are all calling themselves “I”, which just means it all blends together in my head. Wait, this was written by person #4 and not person #2 like I thought? I’m so confused! It’s this shit that gives me trust issues. (No? Only me? Ugh.)

 

Thank you for reading!

Facebook | Twitter | Bloglovin’ | Goodreads

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 34 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on November 20, 2015, in Friday Ramble and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Turkey Hollow looks good. I can’t wait to watch it.

Leave a Reply

