Owl Crate November 2015

octoberowlcratebox

The November Owl Crate theme was Myths and Legends and I was super excited for it. I got my box on the third week of November, so thumbs up on shipping. I was really curious which book we were going to get this month and on the two sneak peeks from The Geeky Cauldron and Adagio Teas. I was a little underwhelmed with October’s box and was uncertain if I would continue my subscription past the 3 months I had already signed up for. It would depend on the November and December boxes if I ponied up the cash for another subscription run. I’m pleased to say I was happier with the November box.

owlcratenov33

Soundless by Richelle Mead!!! I was already going to read this but now I don’t have to wait for my turn on the super long waiting list at the library. I’m so pumped. This kind of makes up for the lackluster pick in October. Then there is the bookmark and tattoos from Mead’s other series, Vampire Academy.

owlcratenov2

I like tea. I’m just not sure about apple tea. I usually drink black tea. It comes in a cute, but very pink, Snow White tin. I think the tin might end up going to one of my friend’s little girls. After I drink the tea, that is. People will receive one of four boxes. I got Snow White but I’ve seen Red Riding Hood, Sleeping Beauty, and Cinderella on other posts.

owlcratenov4

owlcratenov5

Next we come to The Geeky Cauldron and their castle pendant necklace. I’m going to be blunt. I’m not enthused with this. Yes, it’s cute. But up against the choices I saw on The Geeky Cauldron’s website, it’s not my favorite. The pendant is uncomfortably heavy and the chain cheap. You can see where it tore a hunk of my hair out and that was just with a couple hours of wearing it. I’ll have to buy another chain if I ever hope to wear it again. And, although it opens with a magnetic closure, you cannot place pictures inside when it looks like you should. Does it fit the theme? Of course. Would I have been happier with something Harry Potter or other fandom related? Hell yes.

owlcratenov7

Lastly, we have a My Clockwork Castle mermaid scale mirror. Cute, useful. I have no complaints. Then there is the Camp Half-Blood jelly bracelet from the Percy Jackson series from The Colorful Geek. I hate these things with the fire of a thousand suns. They itch, are impossible to get on and off, and sweat gathers under them like nobody’s business. It was an automatic toss in the trash for me.

I know with subscription boxes, it’s always kind of hit or miss with what you get. I’m super happy with the book but the other items are kind of ‘meh’ for me. And $37 is a lot to pay for a box where you really only like the book. ($29.99 plus $6.99 shipping) It was better than the October box but December will be Owl Crate’s last chance to wow me and justify it’s hefty price tag.

The December theme is “Get Inspired!”. I reserve final judgment for another month.

owlcratedecspoiler2015

I know I seem unfairly hard on this box but, dang it, this is my money and if I’m not at least 90% happy with what I am getting on a regular basis, then it’s not worth it to continue spending my money on that subscription box. I spend a lot of money on what is a luxury buying subscription boxes because I like it and I want to get something that I enjoy in return. I will drop a box is I think it’s subpar. It’s a waste of time and money otherwise.

Thank you for reading!

Facebook | Twitter | Bloglovin’ | Goodreads

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 34 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on December 3, 2015, in subscription box, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

