Friday Ramble Dec. 4

fridayramblelogo

Happy Friday, everybody. Welcome to the Friday Ramble, where I recap the week and include some of my favorite posts and inspiration from other bloggers.girlboarderWelcome to December! Here we go! Christmas season.

I totally dropped the ball last week with posts. I ended up getting a cold on Sunday and by Tuesday I thought I was going to die. I woke up dizzy and was forced to stay home from work. I have jaw problems from TMJ. This messes with my inner ear and I have problems with vertigo sometimes. Being sick just made it worse. I forced myself to work on Wednesday because I don’t have any more vacation time to take off sick. I just lose the hours from Tuesday as unpaid.

I had to do the monthly billing before the office closed for Thanksgiving, so, even though I felt like I was swallowing glass, I went to work. As I suspected, I came in to find 6 emails from various people asking if the billing was going to be done on time. Because I work with passive aggressive morons. Why would you send emails to the person who is out sick and get increasingly annoyed when they don’t answer. Brain dead little idiots, that’s whom. Also, I have never been late with the monthly billing. I should complain to corporate about harassment. This shit happens every month.

Thankfully, my throat was a little better on Thanksgiving and I was able to eat my turkey dinner without crying in pain. Ha! I just made a pun. Now I have this annoying cough that will just not go away. All night long. Cough cough cough. I’m going mad, I tell you. I need sleep!

Thanksgiving was good. I made mashed potatoes and broccoli cheese and then then hauled it to my brother’s house. The rain held off, thank all the gods. We ate and talked and I played with his cats. He has a new kitten that is the most adorable thing ever. Then I cam home and my own kitten bit me because I am a cheating whore who petted another cat.

I also watched the new Jurassic World movie. All I could think of was ‘why is Peter Quill fighting dinosaurs?” Lol. I have a one track mind. I’ve always liked Chris Pratt and, while I find it insulting that he had to loose all that weight to break into leading man roles, it’s nice to see him in something that’s not a comedy. I mean, he’s still funny, but he’s a good actor and I like seeing him in more prominent roles. Plus, dinosaurs! I love the Jurassic movies. Even if the series is getting a bit long in the tooth and this one was too convoluted. I still enjoy them. (Poor Katie McGrath.)

linkylove

Check out The Best Christmas Markets in Europe from The Sunday Chapter. The pictures are all soft and glowy and I’m jealous. We don’t have anything that can really compare in the Midwest.

Build a tiny paper village for the holidays and then string LED lights (the type that don’t get hot) around it. A Beautiful Mess shows us how.

Why You Shouldn’t Be Afraid To Travel Solo by the Wonder Forest gals.
I’m fairly sure I’m never going overseas, even though I desperately want to. I know no one would go with me. One friend will never have the money and the other friend keeps having kids. I need more close friends. The thought of traveling alone is panic inducing. I could probably manage traveling in the US but not overseas. If something were to happen at least I’d have someone there to help with whatever shit went down. I don’t think I could handle it by myself and end up spending the time wherever I was stressed out.

13 Ways to Feel More Confident from Angela at The Sunday Chapter.
I obviously need to work on this. Maybe I can get confident 4enough to travel overseas on my own! (Don’t hold your breath.) I did do a good deed this morning. It was cold enough to frost the car windows and living in an apartment means parking outside. I was scrapping my car off when I noticed a lady with mobility problems I’ve seen a couple of times just sitting in her car, waiting for her heater to clear her windshield. I went over and scraped it off so she could leave without waiting. Her name is Gloria.

This Is What A Handwritten Novel By Neil Gaiman Looks Like from BuzzFeed.
Oh my god! Gaiman’s handwriting is horrible. It’s a Frankenstein mix of print and cursive. I’m so disillusioned.

The Goodreads Choice Awards, Best Books of 2015 as voted on by the readers.

The 17 Funniest Tweets About Books In 2015 from BuzzFeed.

tweettweetlib

I’d do this the next time I’m in the library but they’ve started using those computer check out stations. (pout)

Everyone is doing Christmas gift guides. Oh my god, so many. I’ll have to post links to some of the best next week.

26 Things Every Person Should Do for Themselves Once a Year from A Cup of Jo.
Be nice to yourself. Sometimes you are the only person who will be.

It’s almost New Years’ resolution time. Oh the horror. 30 Challenges for 30 Days of Greatness from Marc & Angel Hack Life.
I should do something like this for January.

The Books

Finished: Lost Lake by Sarah Addison Allen

Started: Soundless by Richelle Mead (I hope to finish this today)

Waiting: Coraline by Neil Gaiman

I’ll make a trip to the big library in my town for my first batch of under 300 page books. I hope to read Coraline on Saturday, it not even over 200 pages long, and then I’ll get started on the other books. I’m most looking forward to Serafina and the Black Cloak by Robert Beatty, so I’ll probably start with that.

Provided I can finished Soundless by Richelle Mead today, I will be on track to read 15 books in December. Wish me luck!

under300pagesreadingchallenge

Had to take Fiona, my cat, to the vet last night. A few days ago she was playing and a poop came out. She was so embarrassed. I’ve been giving her some treats for constipation since then but didn’t think much of it. Then on Wednesday night she was using her box, let out a loud meow, jumped out, and ran to scoot her butt across the carpet. A little poop came out. I was horrified. Fi looked ok down there and didn’t seem to mind me lifting her tail and taking a peek afterward.

fionakitty

Still, I took her to the Vet Thursday night just to be sure. Of course, they didn’t find much. No little nasties in her stool and the Vet couldn’t find any obvious signs of what was going on. They expressed her anal glands but otherwise said to just keep an eye on her. If she does it again we might have to see about food allergies and blood work and other crap. So, I spent $100 I really don’t have to be told ‘I don’t know’. Awesome.

You know, I could be a doctor. They’re only guessing anyway. All I would need is a white coat and Google. “Well, all your symptoms match the symptoms of the Black Death, so we’ll just go with that. Sound good?” (dead eyed stare into the camera)

Thank you for reading!

Facebook | Twitter | Bloglovin’ | Goodreads

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 33 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on December 4, 2015, in Friday Ramble and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

