Friday Ramble Dec. 11

fridayramblelogo

Happy Friday, everybody. Welcome to the Friday Ramble, where I recap the week and include some of my favorite posts and inspiration from other bloggers.

girlboarderMy cat, Fiona, is a bad girl. She got a chicken bone out of the trash Saturday night and ate a little of it before I found her. I refused to freak out because after taking her to the Vet last Thursday night for butt scooting and finding zero issues, I was all out of worry and concern. There was a little bit of horking Monday morning after breakfast, so I hoped in the car during lunch and got her some hairball gel. Hoping that a little lubrication would help anything stuck where it didn’t belong. As of last night, everything seems to be alright. Fi was eating and pooping like normal, so I’m not going to worry about it.

fiona6monsmall

The air conditioning is broken at work. This shouldn’t be a problem, seeing as it is winter. But the system is set to blow air for circulation or some such bullshit and requires EFFORT to turn off completely. So it can either blow hot air or cold air and right now it can’t blow cold air. So it’s a nice lovely 63 degrees outside and a balmy 84 degrees in the office. Everyone is hot and irritable and nothing is getting done because of it. I’m ready to throw a chair through a window to get some relief. It’s supposed to be getting fixed but so far none of us have spotted any workers and the air ducts are still pumping out hot air.

We had our holiday luncheon on Wednesday. We got to shut down the office and leave for two hours. Halleluiah! We went to Tucanos Brazilian Grill for churrasco. That’s were servers come around with various meats on skewers and cut you off portions at your table. It was delicious and everyone left full and waddling. My only complaint is that they don’t offer much on the buffet bar. Mostly cold pastas and salad. There were some mashed potatoes, one mixed veggie dish, and some soups but it was lacking in a lot of variety. They also had fried bananas and Brazilian bread, which is fried cheese. It was all delicious but don’t expect a massive buffet selection if you go.

P.S. I can’t be the only one who thinks that Elf on a Shelf thing is creepy.

P.S.S. I lost 5 pounds last month! Everybody high five me!

linkylove

All the holiday gift guides!

What Olivia Did… has been having a 12 Days of Christmas gift guide explosion the last two weeks. She has gift idea for every person on your list! Day 1: The Best Friend. I won’t link to every single one, you can click through on your own, but some of my favorites are Day 3: Girlfriend (love that turquoise Cambridge Cloud Satchel Bag), Day 7: Colleagues (love that copper Oliver Bonas Mug), and Day 11: The DIY/Lifestyle/Etsy Lover (too bad My Little Creative Box only ships to Europe).

Love baking and sweets? Good in the kitchen? Then check out shutterbean’s Homemade Gift Ideas 2015. Yummy!

Christmas Gift Ideas for the Leading Ladies in Your Life from Lark & Linen.

Sunday Chapter posted a Holiday Gift Guide for under $25.

Mad Hatter Reads has been doing a feature called Gift Ideas for the Book Lover for over a year now. Here is the first one. And here is the most recent, #61. Good Christmas present ideas for your resident book lover. Just click though for the other posts.

Make these super cute and easy Santa Claus Cookies from The Girl Who Ate Everything. All you need is some Nutter Butter sandwich cookies, some melted white chocolate, and some red sprinkles. (I am making these for my work’s Treat Exchange next week.)

A simple Perfect Roast Chicken recipe for your next holiday meal from Iowa Girl Eats. Hmmm. Crispy chicken skin. (mouth waters)

The 10 Best Books of 2015 according to the New York Times. I’ve read none of them. 🙂

10 Classic Christmas Carols and the Stores Behind Them

17 YA Novels You Should Read, Based on Your Favorite Classic Novels

The Books

Finished: Soundless by Richelle Mead, Coraline by Neil Gaiman, Serafina and the Black Cloak by Robert Beatty

Started: Garden Princess by Kristin Kladstrup

Next: The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness (This isn’t under 300 pages but I saw it on the shelf at the library and snatched it up before someone else could.)

I don’t think I’m going to make it to 15 books before the end of December unless I do some heavy duty reading on the Christmas break. I have problems finding time to read over the weekends. A mixture of a demanding cat, house work, and errands taking up my time.

I’m trying to get a friend or two together to come with me to the Missouri Botanical Garden’s Garden Glow but, as usual, either nobody has an money or they have no one to watch their kids. I need new friends. I’m obviously living a different lifestyle than these people and I’m starting to wonder why I keep asking when I know no one will say yes. Anybody in the Saint Louis, Missouri area want to hang out?

There needs to be an online version of friend finder or something. Like online dating but for friendships. Hmmm, this person also likes to read, stay in and watch movies, and peace and quiet with the occasional foray to a restaurant or activity when they get bored and antsy. I think I’ll message them. How do normal people make friends? All my friends came from high school…

Thank you for reading!

Facebook | Twitter | Bloglovin’ | Goodreads

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 34 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on December 11, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

