Friday Ramble Dec. 18

fridayramblelogo

Happy Friday, everybody. Welcome to the Friday Ramble, where I recap the week and include some of my favorite posts and inspiration from other bloggers.girlboarder

Next week is Christmas. I’ll be the first to admit that I’m ambivalent about the holidays. Christmas was never a big deal in my family. My family were never big deal people. I wanted us to be. And there are moments that I resent our family’s lack of spirit for, basically, everything. This includes birthdays to anniversaries to holidays. Nothing ever made them special. It was just seen as another day.

Don’t get me wrong. When I was a kid, meals were cooked and trees put up and parties were planned. But I can’t remember much happening past, like, 10 or 11 years of age. The tree went up but it was an afterthought. When I was 14 or 15, I was the one who did that. Often by myself. Outside decorating was the same. For Halloween and Christmas I think I was the only one who bought or put up anything from like age 16 until I moved out. Birthdays are barely acknowledged and you might get a dinner out a couple months after the fact, if you are lucky.

tinychristmas-tree0

My family is small. When I was kid it was my parents, my brother, my maternal grandparents, and my uncle and his wife. Most of my father’s family is dead. When I was a kid I didn’t understand that I should have two sets of grandparents. I thought my next door neighbors were idiots when they kept calling different people Grandpa or Grandma.

My grandparents are dead and we don’t associate with my uncle and his wife anymore. (They are probably hiding in their basement, hugging their shotguns and muttering “the democrats are coming” over and over again. Probably have a shrine to Donald Trump in their living room.) And now my mother is gone too. If it wasn’t for my brother’s girlfriend, I doubt we’d even bother to see each other for Christmas. She’s the one with the family and seems determined to beat some spirit into us as well. Good luck with that.

Look at me, whining and complaining. I guess my point is; enjoy your family, if you have one. Enjoy that togetherness. Enjoy your traditions. Not everyone has them.

santa-claus-skating

linkylove

The Internet Criticizes Reese’s Peanut Butter Trees, But Then Reese’s Drops The Most Witty Response Honestly, they’ve always looked like brown blobs. Why is this an issue now?

Got a little teary eyed reading The Daily Tay‘s The Glow of My Christmas Tree post.

Interview with Paula Hawkins, author of the popular The Girl on the Train.

Interview with Neil Gaiman, my favorite author in the world.

7dayHolidayChallenge2015byParajunkee

Parajunkee has set up a blogging challenge for the holidays this year. Beginning on Saturday 19th, we’ll do a post a day for each topic shown, ending on Day 7 on Christmas. You can do as many or as few as you want. Link posts will be up on Parajunkee each day. Kind of like her usual blog hops but several in a row. A good way to get traffic to your blog over the holidays.

The “Fantastic Beasts” Teaser Trailer Has Finally Arrived

Christmas Dishes From Around The World

Here’s The History Of Santa – I kind of disagree with how Santa got his jolly fat man look. It was most popularized with the Coca Cola ads in the 1930’s. 5 Things You Never Knew About Santa Claus and Coca-Cola Nobody thinks of the 1829 cartoon when thinking of Santa.

The Books

Finished: The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

Started: Waistcoats & Weaponry by Gail Carriger

Next: Poison by Bridget Zinn, A Year in Provence by Peter Mayle

Added: The Secrets of Drearcliff Grange School by Kim Newman, The Penguin Lessons by Tom Michell, Daughters of Ruin by K.D. Castner, SuperMutant Magic Academy by Jillian Tamaki

I’m still hoping to get more of the books on my Under 300 Pages Challenge read.  I might add and subtract books at this point. It depends on what is available next time I go to the library.

My company is closed Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. But that means I still have to get through Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday before I can have that nice long weekend off. And I have to answer phones all three days because the regular receptionist took off. Which means I have to be at work at 7am and stay until 5pm because nobody else “can be spared” to sit and answer phones after 4pm, like I do for the regular receptionist on any normal day. This is double speak for “fuck you, Patricia”. At least I get overtime but by noon I’m going to want to shoot myself. I hate answering phones all day. I can barely stand it for the 2 hours I normally do it. People are rude and dumb. So freaking dumb.

Aren’t I just a ray of bloody sunshine this week?

Thank you for reading!

Facebook | Twitter | Bloglovin’ | Goodreads

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 34 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on December 18, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

