Holiday Blogging Challenge Day 4

7dayHolidayChallenge_BUTTONRachel from Parajunkee is hosting a holiday blogging challenge. Follow these 7 prompts for some quick and easy post during the hectic holiday times.

Our Day 4 prompt is: Holiday Fave Recipe.

I’m going to share with you my grandmother’s recipe for chocolate cake. I can’t eat it anymore and I haven’t taken the time to try and make a gluten free version (because, honestly, anything I make with gluten free flour is going to pale against the memory of her chocolate cake and I’m hesitant to even try). So, I’m going to give you my grandmother’s chocolate cake recipe and you are going to make it and enjoy it and that way her cake will go on as it was meant to. (sniffle) Enjoy the cake for me, people.

Chocolate Cake

Ingredients –

  • 2 cups All Purpose Flour
  • 2 cups granulated white sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 sticks butter
  • 1 cup water
  • 7 tablespoons cocoa
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk

Preheat oven to 350. In a large bowl, add the flour, sugar, and salt. You can shift this if you want but I never bother.

Heat and bring to boil the butter, water, and cocoa. Removed and stir until melted. Pour the wet ingredients into the flour mixture slowly while beating. I guess you could do this by hand but I always use an electric stand mixer.

Scrap down the sides of the bowl and add the eggs, baking soda, vanilla, and buttermilk. Beat until well mixed and then pour into a 9×13 pan you’ve sprayed with Pam or whatever cooking spray you have on hand.

Bake about 35 minutes. Test by inserting a toothpick in the center. If it’s clean when removed, it’s done.

Allow to cool completely before icing.

Icing!

Ingredients –

  • 4 tablespoons butter
  • 4 tablespoons milk
  • 2 tablespoons cocoa
  • 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

Heat the butter, milk, and cocoa until melted. You are not looking for a boil here. Then whisk in the powdered sugar and vanilla until smooth, no lumps.

Pour hot icing over the cooled cake. The icing is basically chocolate ganache, so allow to cool and set for about 20 minutes. The icing should not slosh around and look shiny when set.

I’m drooling now. I actually prefer to eat this chilled. So into the refrigerator it goes for me. But my family eats it room temp too.

* If your cake comes out with a hump in the middle, you will need to level it with a knife or offset spatula. Otherwise your icing will pool along the outside.

Happy Baking!

Day 1

Day 2

Day 3

 

Thank you for reading!

Facebook | Twitter | Bloglovin’ | Goodreads

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 34 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on December 22, 2015, in book meme and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

Leave a Reply

