Holiday Blogging Challenge Day 5

7dayHolidayChallenge_BUTTONRachel over at Parajunkee is putting on a 7 day holiday blogging challenge to make posting during the busy holiday season a little easier.

Our Day 5 prompt is: Share a Holiday Tradition

You see, this is why I don’t post a lot during the holidays. My family doesn’t really have any traditions. Unless you want to count eating. We always meet for a meal on holidays, Thanksgiving and Christmas. Turkey on Thanksgiving and roast beef on Christmas. But other than that, there isn’t anything else.

We never put the tree up together or any of the other decorations. I was the one who hauled everything upstairs and put it up. When I turned 20, I didn’t want to bother and two days before Christmas my Mom finally noticed the tree wasn’t up. The passive aggressive that year was astonishing. We don’t usually buy each other presents either. The parents used to give my brother and I some money but that was it. (Don’t get me wrong; money is very appreciated. Adulting is hard.) I think this year was the first time I’ve gone out to buy present for my Dad and brother since I was a teenager. This is mostly my brother’s girlfriend’s influence.

web2_holiday_tickets

Oh, we do have one tradition that started about a decade ago. (Oh god. I’m old. How did that happen?) Scratchers tickets. We usually get a stack of $1 scratchers and a couple $10 scratchers and split them evenly. Fish out some pennies and go to town. Nobody has won anything over a couple of dollars yet but we live in hope.

Merry Christmas!

Day 1

Day 2

Day 3

Day 4

Thank you for reading!

Facebook | Twitter | Bloglovin’ | Goodreads

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 34 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on December 23, 2015, in book meme and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

