Try the World Holiday Box

Try the World is a food subscription box that focuses on a country from around the world every two months. It’s fairly expensive; I believe I paid $200 for a year long subscription, which, I remind you, would only get me 6 boxes. But I wanted to try it and had money to burn. I know I won’t be renewing this. Part of it is the price, but mostly it’s the fact that I’ve gone gluten free in the last couple of months for health reasons and there is no option (that I know of) to get items that I would actually be able to eat. So, while I find the box fascinating, I don’t get much use out of the stuff I receive.

This review is for their 2015 Holiday Box.

worldbox1

I know one thing I will miss. These boxes. They are my favorite color and perfect for storage. I wonder if it’s possible just to buy a bunch of the boxes, empty? Probably not…

worldbox7

The box was stuffed full when I opened it. There is barely any packing material, it’s so full. There was just a bit of straw in the bottom, around the cookies and a glass jar.

worldbox3

Panettone, G. Cova & C., Italy. When made at home, this sweet bread loaf from Milan is traditionally marked with a cross by the head of the house as a good omen for the coming year. G. Cova & C.’s loaves are made according to an age-old time-consuming process of soaking, leavening, and baking, so they’re just as good as the homemade version. (blue package on the left) Oh man. Of course they would send the most awesome cake in the world. I’ve had Panettone before from a bakery in town. It’s a dense, sweet, raisin filled bread/cake. It is also made with wheat flour and I can’t eat it anymore. This is torture.

Ruby-Red Restorative, Teatonics, UK. Born from a passion for health and wellbeing and the British obsession with tea, Teatonics sources organic botanicals and mills them by hand to create micronutrient and antioxidant filled tea blends. The one, made with a blend of red and green rooibos, hibiscus, cocoa, vanilla, and licorice, is a wonderfully calming nightcap. (red package in the center) I’m not much for herbal teas. I prefer black tea. But this one wasn’t too bad.

Sables, Orientines, Morocco. In the winter, Moroccans celebrate Mawlid al-Nabi, the birth of the prophet Muhammad. The colorful celebration involves bringing families together and discussing the prophet’s life. These cookies, made by a small Moroccan company, are a perfect teatime treat to share over good conversation – or any other occasion. (orange package on the right) Argh! More delicious items I can’t eat anymore.

worldboX44

Açaí Dessert Sauce, Bazzar, Brazil. The centerpiece of a typical Brazilian feast is a whole turkey served with tropical fruit. Glazed over poultry, this indulgent açaí sauce is a great substitute. (And it’s delicious over pancakes!) Plus, local acai berries are packed with antioxidants – known to help weight loss and maintain heart health – so there no guilt in enjoying. (brown jar on left) I’ve had something like this over vanilla ice cream before. Yummy.

Ginger Snaps, Nyåkers, Sweden. Swedish Christmas markets would be remiss without festive gingersnap garlands lining the stalls. Not only do they pair well with mulled wine; they’re also a favorite treat on St. Lucia’s Day, a holiday celebrated in Sweden on December 13th that commemorates the girl who brought food to persecuted Christians in Rome. (box in the center) More cookies I can’t eat to torture me with.

Extra-Virgin Olive Oil, Sindyanna of Galilee, Israel. This complex, yet balanced olive oil is grown, harvested, and cold pressed by a cooperative of Arab and Jewish women in northern Israel. Sindyanna’s mission is particularly admirable, as the cooperative fosters unity in a territory whose ownership is contested by the very groups the company brings together. (bottle on the right) I’ve gotten olive oil from World Box before and it’s always awesome. I can’t wait to crack this bottle open.

worldbox55

Chocolate Truffles, Truffette de France, Canada. It might come as a surprise that these truffles are Canadian, but Truffette de France actually began production (as one might imagine) in France. Their sweets were so popular that the company expanded to Quebec. Truffles, the most festive of holiday sweets, pair well with ice cream or an end-of-the-meal digestive like Cognac. (box on the left) I’ll admit I opened these babies up the second I saw them and ate them all in a minute. I freaking love truffles. And, hey look, something I can actually eat without becoming horribly sick!

Mixed Berries, Biokia, Finland. In Finland’s northern wilderness, Biokia harvests a range of wild and little-known berries such as bilberries and lingonberries. These varieties are packed with healthful fiber, vitamins, and antioxidants. To preserve those qualities and maintain their flavor, Biokia freezes the berries and gently dries them soon after harvest. (bag on the right) Tart with a hint of sugar. Good.

worldbox6

And the whole box unpacked. There were 8 things in this box. A nice haul. I like this subscription box but I’m not going to renew it. I rarely eat any of the items they send and there is no ability to make sure I get stuff that won’t make me sick.  It’s fairly expensive and if you are a picky eater, you might not get much use out of this box. It was fun but parting is such sweet sorrow. I will miss those awesome teal boxes, though.

Happy Holidays, everybody!

Thank you for reading!

Facebook | Twitter | Bloglovin’ | Goodreads

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 33 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on December 23, 2015, in food, subscription box and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

