Top Ten Tuesday Feb. 9

Top Ten Tuesday from The Broke and the BookishTop Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish.

Our prompt this week is: Valentine’s Day is next week… so we’re doing a Valentine’s Day themed freebie! Top Ten Books That Would Make Great Valentine’s Day Reads (or anti-Valentine’s day reads), Top Ten OTPs, Top 10 fictional crushes, top ten great love declarations in fiction, swoony quotes from books, etc. Get creative!

Ugh. Valentine’s Day. Bah Humbug! I plan to spend Valentine’s Day the same way I always have, on my couch with junk food and streaming Netflix.

Ok, I’m going to be honest here; I am a hypocrite. When I read books, especially young adult books, I am anti-romance. My favorite books barely have any romance to speak of. For me, the romance in young adult books is just painful; full of instant love, the guy being an asshole to the girl and they still get together, the girl having stomach problems because the guy is hot, and all sorts of dribble that makes me want to throw up. It’s superficial and silly.

I am also a slash fangirl. Pretty boys go well with other pretty boys. I will happily take two characters from a movie or TV show and smush them together in a relationship regardless of any factors to the contrary. (manic grin) I am happy as a clam with just a computer and a fanfiction website. I will read anything, really, that has my pairing in it, good, bad, or horrible. I am insane and I willingly admit to being insane.

So, these are my Top 10 OTP’s! (OTP means one true pairing and fangirls can be rabid about it.)

steve-tony1) Steve Rogers/Tony Stark
Oh god. I’m so sorry. This started out as a mild interest with the first Iron Man movie, where I was leaning more toward Pepper Potts/Tony Stark or Rhodey/Tony Stark. I found the Steve Rogers/Tony Stark pairing while reading fanfiction, which were more Marvel comic based and since I didn’t read comics, I was less interested. Then the Avengers movie happened and that was it. Full on OTP. This is probably my biggest and longest OTP I’ve ever had. When the Civil War movie comes out in May, I’m going to lose my marbles. I’m so, so sorry. (Not really.)

2) John Sheppard/ Rodney McKay
I was so disappointed when they canceled Stargate: Atlantis and put on that stupid Stargate: Universe on. There were supposed to be movies to wrap everything up but that never happened either. I also like Jack O’Neill/Daniel Jackson but for some reason I liked Stargate: SG1 less than Atlantis. I don’t know why.

manfromuncleposterlarge3) Illya Kuryakin/Napoleon Solo
New fandom! I’m too young to have caught the original The Man from UNCLE series and had no interest when there were reruns. This pairing is all the fault of the movie remake last year. I’m weak. Weak! You can’t give me two male leads with 4 inches of height difference and not expect me to smush them together.

4) James Kirk/Spock
Pretty much the original OTP of the world. I was reading Kirk/Spock stuff before fanfiction was even very big. Then the movies with Chris Pine and Zachary Quinto came out and the fandom exploded with a fresh generation of slash lovers and fanfiction writers.

5) Harry Potter/Draco Malfoy & Ron Weasley/Hermione Granger
These guys are just going to have to share this spot. On one hand, yay! for the female lead not ending up with the male lead. Ron and Hermione are fabulous. However, Harry ends up with Ginny Weasley and, well, I can’t have that. He obviously belongs with his nemesis and tortured bad guy partner, Draco. (pats on head)

6) Sherlock Holmes/John Watson
I don’t care what time period it’s set in, Sherlock and John belong together forever and ever. Amen.

7) Arthur/Merlin
From that BBC TV show Merlin a couple years back. Yep. Still love them.

8) Castiel/Dean Winchester
From Supernatural. This is Canon and you can’t convince me otherwise.

9) Hiccup Haddock/Astrid Hofferson
Oh, look! A straight pairing! How did that happen? The whole How to Train Your Dragon world is awesome and those two are awesome and they belong together in awesomeness. The End.

10) Katniss Everdeen/Gale Hawthorne
Peeta is a freaking twit. That is all.

Happy Valentine’s Day, everybody! I’m going to hell in a hand basket, yes I am! La la la la! Must remember to pick up marshmallows.

Thank you for reading!

Facebook | Twitter | Bloglovin’ | Goodreads

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 33 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on February 9, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. 6 and 7 are life. I’m not even joking 😄

Leave a Reply

