Friday Ramble 4/5/13

fridayramblelogo

Welcome to the Friday Ramble, where I share what has been going on in my life and on the blog the past week.

Bookish Blog News

blackdot Talked about some of my reading habits on this week’s Musing Mondays post.

blackdot Two books reviews:
1) Merry Lee and the Cursed Grandfather Clock by Amanda L. Kidd (Middle Grade)
2) The Secret Tunnel by James Lear (Erotica; Adults Only)

blackdot Check out what I added to my to be read shelf this week in Friday Finds.

Personal News

blackdot Cha…cha…changes! I’ve decided to get a better handle on my health. On Monday I went to my general care doctor to talk about my continued hair loss due to my PCOS (it’s a hormone imbalance) and how my current birth control pills weren’t really doing anything to stop it. When I shower, there are clumps of hair left on the bathmat. Of course, she referred me to another doctor like I knew she would. Waste of $20 really but she wanted to see me even though I called the nurse line first to try and avoid that. Now I get to wait for two months to see an Endocrinologist. Fun all around.

blackdot On Wednesday I went to the dentist for the first time in over a decade. Don’t give me that look. I hate the dentist and as a child would utterly freak out when my Mom told me I was going. I’m talking sobbing, screaming meltdowns. But I decided 30 years old was old enough to put on my big girl panties and get over myself. I have a horrible gag reflex. But the lady put salt on my tongue and we were able to get xrays done without me trying to vomit. Neat trick. She cleaned my teeth and all is good. I have a small cavity I have to go back for in May but other than that, surprisingly good for not seeing a dentist in the last ten years.

blackdot Next Monday, it’s the eye doctor and a new pair of glasses.

blackdot (waves goodbye to her money)

What am I reading?

Finished: Merry Lee and the Cursed Grandfather Clock by Amanda L. Kidd, The Secret Tunnel by James Lear, & The Ugly Stepsister Strikes Back by Sariah Wilson
Started: The Witches’ Kitchen by Allen Williams
What Next: Scorch by Gina Damico, The Runaway King by Jennifer A. Nielsen

Search Terms

blackdot who is visily romani in heist society – They don’t freaking tell us and it’s driving me nuts!

blackdot coffee zombie – I love that this gets hits.

blackdot quotes from the book wolverine worst day ever – No quotes but my review is here.

blackdot splintered a.g howard review – Review here.

blackdot give up the ghost megan crewe rating for what age – Middle Grade. I wouldn’t have any problems with a 4th or 5th grader reading it. Maybe even a 3rd grader. Review here.

blackdot And once again a couple searches for skulduggery pleasant and savvy by ingrid law.

Note Worthy Articles

Amazon is well on its way to ruling the planet by buying Goodreads. People are annoyed, to say the least.
Amazon purchase of Goodreads stuns book industry – The Guardian
Amazon Buys Goodreads For Undisclosed Sum – The Huffington Post
Amazon buys Goodreads: We’re all just data now – Salon

From The Blogs

Parajunkee gives us some Twitter help with her post Book Blogging 101: Ten Twitter Tools of Awesome. I regularly use TwitterChat myself. Check out Rachel’s other helpful Book Blogging 101 posts here.

This week was the Book Blogger Twitter Con 2013. I did manage to make several of the evening chats. I couldn’t make the afternoon ones because I’m at work but the chats I could make were a blast. If you missed some of the chats you can look them up by searching for the hashtags on Twitter.

The Monday afternoon chat was Copyright and Plagiarism. Search for #BBTCCopy
The Monday evening chat was A Case of the Neggies 1. Search for #BBTCNeg1

Tuesday afternoon – The Art of Copy Editing. #BBTCArt
Tuesday evening – Book Smack. #BBTCSmack

Wednesday afternoon – Digging Deep. #BBTCDig
Wednesday evening – A Case of the Neggies 3. #BBTCNeg3

Thursday afternoon – Amazon Addicts. #BBTCAddicts
Thursday evening – Twitter Awesome. #BBTCTwit

Friday afternoon – Giveaway Diva. #BBTCGive
Friday mid-evening – Get ’em Talking #BBTCTalk
Friday evening – The Case of the Neggies 2. #BBTCNeg2

See all the BBTC posts and even the Twitter chat archives here.

Kelly @ Radiant Shadows picks apart the two most popular blog readers; Bloglovin’ or Feedly?

Books Added This Week

From the Library

fr1

Scorch by Gina Damico

The Runaway King by Jennifer A. Nielsen

The Witches’ Kitchen by Allen Williams

Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter

Bought for Kindle

stickyend

A Sticky End by James Lear

Etc.

blackdotThere are 169 books in my Goodreads To Be Read shelf and 108 books on my Goodreads Read shelf.

Thank you for reading!

About Patricia @ Lady with Books

I'm a 34 year old female. Brown hair. Blue eyes. I spend a great deal of my time surfing the internet and blogging. I enjoy cooking. I make a mean sautéed vegetable dish. I write. I read.

Posted on April 5, 2013, in Friday Ramble, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Ugh I hate the dentist! They poke me with sharp objects and then wonder why my gums are bleeding! Lol

    Thanks so much for linking to my post 😀

Leave a comment